worklog: Work on, work done, work sum, work today

Time-tracking software again, and this time it’s one that has been around for a while.

2014-06-29-6m47421-worklog

My first run-in with worklog was about four years ago, and it seems quite different now. Could it be that the project has changed hands, or the name has been juggled between authors?

I don’t know. I should mention though, that the web site I linked to four years ago has gone dead. Nothing to be read into that; it happens sometimes.

But worklog looks a bit different too. The screenshot I snapped way back then doesn’t look much like what I have on my screen now. I should mention that some of the options listed in the help pages trigger python errors.

Usually I would blame that on differences between python versions (those always seem to crop up among unmaintained software, whenever python gets a dot-bump) but this time it only makes me suspicious. (The python errors cropped up at work on --all for me, which I took to mean there would be some sort of interactive mode. That might be where that other screenshot came from. I honestly don’t remember. 😦 )

worklog abbreviates itself to just work when installed, and it’s a simple matter of triggering a timer with work on Project to start, and work done when you’re … done. 🙄

Aside from that, you can ask for a breakdown of the work you’ve done today with work today and get a total sum of time spent with … you guessed it: work sum. There are a few other options for switching projects and editing descriptions, but if you can handle those four, you’ll do fine with worklog.

worklog is a decent choice if your time-tracking needs are simple, and neither timebook, timetrap nor punch is of interest. And if none of these is worthy of your attention, then may I suggest … ?

2 thoughts on “worklog: Work on, work done, work sum, work today

  1. Pingback: Links 2/7/2014: GNU/Linux up in Steam, New GCHQ Lawuit | Techrights

  2. Pingback: wtime: The laconic task tracker | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.