yersinia: Points awarded for style

I will show you as much as I have seen of yersinia, a network security tool that can run strictly in the console.

2014-07-05-6m47421-yersinia

And now you’ve seen all that I have. If you’ve witnessed yersinia doing more than that, please feel free to share your experience.

Because after that screen, yersinia invariably comes to a screeching halt for me. I’ve tried different interfaces, different protocols, and even different options within different protocols. I also took a little time to see if there was information on the Intarnet about why it stopped so abruptly, but I walked away with nothing.

And all of this is disappointing because yersinia seems to have a good grasp on the console application approach. The colored boxes and pop-up messages had my interest almost immediately, and bring back memories of kismet. It has a good layout, and a visual appeal.

But it invariably came crashing down without the least bit of actual work done.

As always, I’m willing to take the potential blame and say my configuration or hardware or arrangement were at fault for yersinia’s inability. I can’t be sure, but I’m willing to hold my hand up.

But it’s still just sad to me. I’ve never seen a help page so colorful and animated as yersinia’s … 😦