tcpkill and tcpnice: Let’s be fair for once

In the past I have been somewhat rude, dismissing tools out of the dsniff suite without giving them their chance to shine. I should probably look at one or two, just to be fair.

Starting with tcpkill and tcpnice might be a mistake though. This could be one of those times when I inadvertently shoot myself in the foot, trying to learn how to use a program.

So I’m going to be somewhat vague. For example, I know that one program should throttle a connection’s speed, and the other should kill it outright. To wit. …

tcpkill -9 host inconsolation.wordpress.com

should prevent you from reading my dull and worthless blatherings. Designate ports by substituting port for host above. Multiple hosts and/or ports can be connected with the and term.

So in all, it’s clean, fast, intuitive and for what I’ve seen, works like it says it will.

tcpnice should behave in much the same way. This alone

tcpnice -i wlp4s0 'net 192.168.1.1/24'

unless I’m mistaken, should slow down a connection by speckling it with unwanted noise or misdirections. Again, I’m being vague here. I’m sure that there are more professional, expert and elegant ways to use either tool.

“Well, that wasn’t so difficult to understand,” you might say. “Where’s the potential for harm in that?” you might ask.

I suppose there isn’t any. But seeing as most of the dsniff package is intended for serious endeavours, my fear is that some random command nonchalantly thrown into a terminal emulator would suddenly disconne

3 thoughts on “tcpkill and tcpnice: Let’s be fair for once

  1. John

    I’m no expert, but I wouldn’t have guessed noise was inserted. I would’ve thought it would be more akin to ioprio_set.

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      I probably shouldn’t use the word “noise” there. I meant it in a very generic form, and I know that word can have specific meanings. May I refer you to the home page, so we’re both safer in what it does? 😉

  2. Pingback: Bonus: U is for used up | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.