tcpspy: Another casualty of the times?

Judging by its description and my observations, I fear that tcpspy may have crushed under the Wheels of Progress.

I declare that knowing full well that the program is available to Debian users and may do as it’s told there, but on my Arch system, it seems to have been rendered impotent.

2014-05-19-jk7h5f1-tcpspy-01 2014-05-19-jk7h5f1-tcpspy-02

As I understand it, tcpspy should be able to follow a tcpdump-esque rule, monitor traffic and log any activity that fits its rule. No multicolor bar charts or wanton file duplication this time, just marking the time and the activity. As I understand it.

The problem is, tcpspy sends its observations to syslog. Which no longer exists, now that systemd has taken over. You can see the output of journalctl above; it registered tcpspy’s start, but nothing else is registered there.

Of course, it could just be that I’ve misconfigured something again, and despite my grandest efforts, it’s not working as well as it could. I am willing to accept responsibility there.

But I should think that, even under the worst of configurations, journalctl would show something ascribed to tcpspy, especially since rhapsody is spitting out news alerts feverishly in the background.

An added wrinkle: You can see some error reports in red, where tcpspy apparently segfaulted on previous attempts. Maybe there is some sort of inconsistency working against me. Or perhaps, since it’s not a new application, it too has succumbed to the ravages of time.

Of course, if I had a brain in my head, I’d probably install syslog-ng, get that working reasonably well, and check to see what appears there. My hopes are not high though. 😦

If you’re on a Debian-based machine, you might be able to fill in some of the blanks for me. Of course, when your system makes the great Leap of Faith to systemd, tcpspy might no longer be an option for you either. Time will tell. 😐

One thought on “tcpspy: Another casualty of the times?

  1. Pingback: nnnnLinks 24/5/2014: Many Games on GNU/Linux, Thai Coup | Techrights

Comments are closed.