Bonus: W is for washed up

Tick tock, tick tock. Time is ticking down to the end of The List. Here’s what’s left of the W section, with the obvious, regular omissions.

  • walker: walker is a python script that mirrors local content to a server. I’m not sure of all the ins and outs, but I’m sure I don’t have a server. Not in Arch/AUR or Debian, and the host page on python.org is gone. Softpedia didn’t keep the sourcecode.
  • wargames: I was tempted to throw this in with the other games from bsd-games in the W section, but as far as I could tell, it only does one thing, no matter what you type. If it’s some kind of joke or trick, somebody let me in on the punch line.
  • webspy: I think this is a Windows program. Who put this on The List?!
  • whisker: A web server audit tool. It’s a little beyond my reach. The Debian page is still up and there’s still a source package on Sourceforge, but the home page has been moved or taken down by the original author.
  • whitespace: I can’t seem to find this anywhere. Nothing in Arch, nothing in AUR, nothing in Debian.
  • wireless: More of a category than an application. I don’t think this is really supposed to be on the list.
  • wireshark: I spent a lot of time looking at wireshark, and came to the conclusion that it is a graphical program for the most part. A CLI version comes as a collection of text-based tools and I have a feeling that the graphical interface just triggers those in the correct sequence. It actually struck me as more clumsy to use the text-based version than the graphical interface. In any case I decided it was intended more for the visual user.
  • with: With … what?
  • woody: A tree editor or outliner that dates back to 2000. Supposedly similar to a PalmOS application, but I only got errors when I tried to use it.
  • word2x: Should convert Word documents to other formats. This wouldn’t compile in Arch, and isn’t in Debian.
  • wordview: Part of catdoc, if I remember right.
  • wvware: If I understand right, there are underlying libraries to the wv tool that are usable in external programs. I probably could have included this as part of wv, but I thought they might warrant additional attention here.

And now the final countdown: Here comes X, Y and Z. … πŸ˜€

4 thoughts on “Bonus: W is for washed up

  1. joek

    Wargames is a joke — though not, I’m afraid, a very good one. It refers to a film of the same name, in which an A.I. says of global thermonuclear war: “A strange game. The only winning move is not to play.”

    Whitespace *might* refer to a programming language of the same name, in which spaces, tabs, and new lines are the only characters with any meaning — all other characters are treated as comments…

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Yes, I knew about the movie. I just couldn’t figure out why the “game” was part of bsd-games. I’ve seen primary school children write better software than that.

      You might be right about whitespace, but if that’s the case, I think I might pass it over anyway. … 😯 πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for the tips! πŸ˜€

  2. Pingback: Links 4/7/2014: E19 Alpha 2, KDevelop 4.7.0 Beta | Techrights

  3. Pingback: Bonus: X is for extinct | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.