quote: Stock info at the cli

Speaking of software I really don’t have much use for, quote is something cool, and probably very useful for some people.

2013-03-07-solo-2150-quote-01

I, on the other hand, have almost as little interest in money as I do in Windows. There was a joke in there. If it made sense. 😐

Honestly, I can see where a tool like this might be useful. One shot from the command line and you get the essential information, right in front of you.

And given that its output is delightfully simple and straightforward, this becomes a natural to pipe through another program.

I don’t have much application for it personally, so I did what I like to do whenever confronted with cool software that I can’t really use: dump it through figlet.

2013-03-07-solo-2150-quote-02

Maybe there are some things I should just leave be. … 😳

6 thoughts on “quote: Stock info at the cli

  1. simon

    Just realised you have come out of hibernation. LOVED your motho blog. Thank you for coming back sir!

  2. RoseHosting

    A simple one liner to get the stock quote via yahoo

    curl -s ‘http://download.finance.yahoo.com/d/quotes.csv?s=dell&f=l1’
    curl -s ‘http://download.finance.yahoo.com/d/quotes.csv?s=ibm&f=l1’

  3. Pingback: ticker: Glitter for your pre-Pentium III | Inconsolation

  4. Pingback: zscroll: Pure flair | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.