aa3d: I know there’s a pony in there somewhere

Since I just mentioned wordsearch, which isn’t really a game, I will go ahead and tack on aa3d today, which isn’t really a game either.

2014-11-29-l3-b7175-aa3d

Things like this should probably be called “amusements.” “Game” is a bit of a stretch. Unless staring cross-eyed at console screens in search of three-dimensional unicorns is your idea of a game. 😕

aa3d generates stereograms in ASCII, and depending on your monitor, your eyesight and your luck at seeing unicorns, what might appear in the image there is a top-down view of a pyramid.

Personally, I don’t see it. I don’t usually have trouble with stereograms, and I don’t mind using my imagination to see art rendered in ASCII for the basic images it might represent. But this time I’m afraid … it’s just not there for me. Feed aa3d an image of your own, and see if it comes through for you.

My own biological shortcomings aside, this might be interesting to you, either as a gimmick or as a stepping stone to something else. I don’t think it would work well as a means toward data obfuscation; aa3d only generates the images, but doesn’t seem to convert them back.

Which means if you can’t see the stereo image of the unicorn, you never see it at all. 😦

aa3d is in Debian but I don’t see it in the Arch corpus. I may be overlooking it, but I have the aa libraries installed, and it’s not on my system as part of that either. No matter, if you’re an Arch user, I have no doubt you’ll be able to build it on your own. 😉