tcpdump: Raw data at will

On the surface, tcpdump looks fairly simple.

2014-05-18-jk7h5f1-tcpdump-01 2014-05-18-jk7h5f1-tcpdump-02

And generally speaking, it is. The default output is on the left, and for the most part, it’s probably the easiest to read.

On the right, the -A flag, which displays ASCII and looks a little less coherent. Of course, networking is not my strong point, so it may be that there’s a use I don’t know about.

I’m going to pull up short on tcpdump, mostly because I still have about 100 more titles in the T section, and because it is among the grand poo-bahs of network tools, right up there with nmap, netcat and the almighty ping. 🙄

I also don’t know of much tcpdump kung-fu. So the less time I spend with it, the less of a chance I embarrass myself trying to explain how to use it. 😐 😳