rig: The random identity generator

I find rig terrifically amusing. I can’t tell you why; I just do.

2014-04-01-lv-r1fz6-rig

I can’t wait for the next website that wants me to supply a name and address, probably while trapping me inside a lightbox effect, just to get an e-mail address or a 10 percent-off coupon.

The home page description is marvelously terse and you can learn everything there is to know about rig in a matter of minutes.

You can stick with male or female names, and demand a certain quantity beforehand. I’m not sure why the phone numbers are redacted, but that’s easy to barge through.

It’s a shame that rig, by default, only seems to handle addresses from America, but perhaps a quick look through /usr/share/rig/(whatever).idx will yield some ideas to get around that. Ideally, I’d love it if rig worked like polygen, and let you mold your own address rules.

No matter. rig is good for name generation, address generation and even city location. What you do with it is your business. :mrgreen:

1 thought on “rig: The random identity generator

  1. Pingback: tabview: csv files have never been cooler | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.