vnstat: Network logging over time

I tinkered with vnstat a long time ago, reinstalled it a few days ago, and got it working to a small degree.

I mention that because this screenshot shows that vnstat is not so much a network monitor as a network activity logging tool. I think. If I understand it right. Because again, networking is my weak point. 😦

2013-04-28-solo-2150-vnstat

And so as you can see, vnstat found a trace of information creeping back to the end of last year, when this blog was in its infancy. 😛

Many other tools offer logging features, and so you might say that vnstat is only slightly different from others in the pack.

That may be; like I said, networking is my weak point, and I have a hard time seeing the benefit of one particular tool over another.

I do like that vnstat relies only on kernel statistics and keeps a light profile as a result.

Visually speaking, because I am a visual person, vnstat’s default display does leave a little to be desired.

However, if you’re more attuned to hard numbers and getting specific statistics over time, vnstat’s bland output might not bother you.

If only there was some color in there. … 🙄

1 thought on “vnstat: Network logging over time

  1. Pingback: Links 24/5/2013: Fedora ‘Pidora’, CIvil Rights Debated in the US | Techrights

Comments are closed.