andatool: Searching forever and ever

I had one more logging tool related to genstats and logintop10 that I wanted to point out, and unfortunately I can’t do much more than this when I show it.

2015-03-03-6m47421-andatool

That’s a disappointment on two counts, first being my relative dunderheaded attempts at feeding andatool a proper regex string. I’m dunderheaded about regex on the whole, so I suppose it’s not to be expected.

The other disappointment is in the fact that andatool is continually skimming through my /var/log/pacman.log file, forever and ever, looking for matching strings. As the log gets updated, the counts update … or they would, if I could get it working and show an animated image.

So you’ll have to use your imagination. Or you could build it yourself, give it a professional-grade regex string and a proper log to look at, and see how it works for you. Never trust me on these things.😕

I can give you a few pointers though. You have to designate a file for andatool to skim through, with the -i flag, and you have to give it the full path. That might sound obvious, but I wrestled with that for a little bit.

Also, it seems more intuitive to use the -s flag each time, since that tells andatool to start at the beginning of the file and work the whole way through. I can imagine where it might be useful to omit it, but all of my best attempts were more interesting when I included that flag.

And I should mention that you’re not limited to one expression, so you could search through a log for several different instances, and watch each one update.

I don’t recall too many live log filter tools, so andatool seems worthy of mention. Not in AUR or Debian that I could find; don’t let that keep you from trying it though.

One thought on “andatool: Searching forever and ever

  1. Pingback: Links 17/3/2015: Linux 4.0 RC4, Calligra and Krita 2.9.1 Released | Techrights

Comments are closed.