Bonus: Changes afoot

I got an e-mail a few weeks ago from Markus, giving a tip about a program and mentioning that the pace of two applications a day was too fast for him.

I’m sure he was joking, but I had to admit in truth that two-a-day for the past year (and a half, roughly) is more time than I can really afford chasing console software.

I started that pace way back in 2013, mostly because the titles I had in reserve were of dubious quality, and had no frame as an entire collection. And to be honest, I had no desire to spend two years picking through the same tired old list. Bumping up the pace let me clip the time needed in half, and move on to newer, fresher things.

But it’s been more than six months since the demise of the original List, and most of the titles I see these days are from Github or other newer channels. Occasionally I fall back on personal software collections as sources, but it’s more interesting — and more rewarding — to see what the youngsters are inventing. As opposed to a decade-old revision of Tetris.🙄

In any case, I plan to crank down the pace for the coming year, and space things out a little more. An application a day is probably enough for most people to absorb, and makes a little more sense in the grand scheme of things.

I also plan to be a little more discriminating in the programs I list. Early on I had a sense of obligation to try everything, no matter how obscure or esoteric a tool was. Now though, I feel like there will always be a script or a program that targets a very slim audience, and me making an allowance for it isn’t in my best interest.

So don’t feel bad if the network monitoring tool aimed at a specific server engine available only on one brand of hardware and with a specific array of subsidiary applications … just doesn’t show up here, no matter how awesome it is.

It’s not personal, it’s just way too narrow a focus. And as the past week or so has shown, there are literally scores of programs that must also fall along the wayside, even if they are included in impressive, replete distros.

In any case, let’s slow things down a bit. No need to rush. It’s 2015, and there will never be a shortage of text-based software.😉

One thought on “Bonus: Changes afoot

  1. Pingback: duelcommander: A framework, at best | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.