Bonus: More from the deepest depths of Debian

And not just Debian this time, since I have one or two here that elude me and are from the Arch corpus only. By and large the relevant theme here is a consistent lack of required hardware, although I’m throwing in an oddball application or two that I just can’t seem to get working, for more traditional reasons. Like extensive or esoteric setups. Or my own thick-headedness.πŸ™„

  • diod: Described as “an I/O forwarding server that implements a variant of the 9P protocol from the Plan 9 operating system.” Translation: “Beyond K.Mandla’s expertise.” In Debian as just diod; in AUR as diod-git.
  • dspam: An intelligent spam filter that supposedly, if I interpret the home page correctly, has a reputation for accuracy that reaches the 99.95 percent level. I am sidestepping it mostly because I have a feeling it will require an entire e-mail setup before reaching a testable status. In Debian; in AUR with a slightly different home page.
  • enigma: I don’t think this really belongs on my list; the Debian version appears to be a graphical marble puzzle game, the Arch version is a falling block game, and there are a half-dozen matching titles in AUR. Take your pick, but I don’t think many of those are text-based.
  • fbtv: This is a bit of a puzzle. This is in Debian as a tool that allows you to view television on the framebuffer; why this would be preferable to the almighty mplayer (or vlc) is not clear. As an added complication, I can find no home page, although I do see references here and there around the Internet to xawtv and bbtv, and they may be sharing libraries.πŸ˜•
  • fd: I owe Jon Sagotsky a huge apology for taking nearly a year to pay proper attention to fd, which is a directory-switching tool not unlike commacd. I was lax in trying to get fd to work in bash, and Jon was very helpful in my efforts. In the end, I think we agreed it worked as promised in zsh, but I don’t recall getting the intended behavior in bash. If you decide to try it out, I am sure Jon would be delighted to get more feedback on what needs help. Sorry this took so long, Jon.😦
  • gcpegg: Candidate for the “strangest package” award. This is in Debian, with a cryptic description of software intended for a mysterious “Global Consciousness Project.” The Debian page also is quite insistent that if you don’t have the GCP’s proprietary equipment, the program will be of zero use to you. I’m comfortable with that caveat; let’s find something else to investigate. …
  • genometools-common: I’m using the Debian package name for a suite of software intended to help with calculating genome projects. Genome analysis really is not my forte, and so I’m willing to call this, “lack of requisite abilities.”
  • gfs2-utils: I only see this in Debian, but I’m not sure what to look for in Arch for the same suite. Supposedly allows a cluster of machines to access shared network storage. I only have one or two machines, and no network storage.😦
  • gle: A graphics scripting language for publication-quality plots, charts and diagrams. In both Debian and AUR.
  • gmod: If I understand it, this allows playback of specific file types on very old, Pentium 1-era equipment (Gravis Ultrasound family sound card or a Sound Blaster AWE? I think). It pains me to say it, but I don’t have any systems of that generation, running that hardware, seeking to play that file format.😦
  • GNU fdisk: A GNU-ish version of the fdisk and cfdisk tools. I’m stepping past this one only because I’ve seen both of those programs already. In Debian and in AUR, which makes sense in the former but seems esoteric in the latter.
  • gnuspool: Network printer spooling done in GNU fashion. In Debian but not in Arch or AUR. I don’t have a printer, let alone a network printer with the demand that would require spooling.
  • goaccess: Web server log analyzer. Judging by the home page, this looks very interesting and quite feature-full. Unfortunately it also looks like it would be fruitless for me to install it on my meager little outdated laptops, and hope to show any kind of a meaningful screenshot. In both Debian and Arch.
  • gopher: It’s a little silly for me to link to a home page for gopher, which is a hypertext protocol, and not really an application. It is installable in both Debian and Arch though; the link here is given because it’s attached to the PKGBUILD in the Arch version. Debian doesn’t have a home page, but that’s probably more of an oversight than a deliberate omission.
  • i7z: I see this in Arch but not in Debian; hardware reporting for Intel i7- (and other-) based machines. Maybe one day I will own an i7-based machine. …:\
  • imapproxy: In both Debian and Arch, this is a proxy arrangement for IMAP servers. I think. I sometimes forget whether the IMAP comes before the proxy, or vice-versa.πŸ˜• In any case, I’m at a disadvantage to make it work.
  • inetutils-talk: I believe this is the talk tool that I failed to wrangle back in the summer. It may be that the Debian version proves more useful, so I mention it again here.
  • instagram-news-cli: I don’t use Instagram, so I can’t say if this tool even works, let alone proves useful. It was relayed to me by Mario, who vouched for it as a viable utility if you use the service. Neither in Arch or Debian, to the best of my knowledge.
  • isdn4k-utils and isdnutils-base: The former is in Arch but not Debian, and the latter is in Debian but not Arch. The interesting part is that they both point to the same home page and likely are the same software, just under different packaging names. Probably the starting point of ISDN in Linux, but I don’t have any relevant equipment, so you get the enviable task of seeing what relates to what in either distro.
  • isdnvboxclient: This is in Debian only and the package page suggests it’s a voice answering system client, which may or may not be text-only. Looking at the dependencies it seems like it is; I see the home page is the same as the previous two ISDN titles. I really don’t have any of the equipment it would be necessary to try this.😦
  • jvim-canna: A “localized” version of vim intended for Japanese text. In Debian. I have my suspicions that this will require some X underpinnings; the package page lists libX11 as a dependency.
  • lcd4linux: Both the AUR and Debian pages point to a missing page for this utility. The package pages suggest it allows you to send core system statistics to an LCD display — not your monitor, but the little LCD output screens that show temperature or speed or whatnot. You probably can divine that I don’t have any of that hardware.
  • lcdproc: AUR and Debian are in agreement again for this one, which seems to do much the same as the last project. If you have an LCD screen built into your rig and can get lcdproc to work with it, tell us how cool it is. Pics or it didn’t happen.
  • live-f1: I have no idea what the Arch/AUR equivalent for this Formula 1 stat report tool would be (f1lt?), so I’m listing it under its Debian package name. My weak efforts to find a home page or a source repository left me high and dry, and I’m omitting it mostly because it will require me to open an account on the Formula 1 home page, if I read the package page correctly. As a curiosity, this appears on Freecode, but has no external page links that I could find.
  • lldb: Debugger for the llvm project. I am not sure what to do with this, or where to start. In AUR, and in Debian for Jessie.
  • lsb-core: I know about the lsb, and have for a while. But it doesn’t really mean a lot to me and the installable tool for Arch seems to only output the lsb version number. Which makes me wonder what use the Debian version might be.
  • lsmbox: As in list mailbox, this monitors the contents of mailboxes and accounts. It doesn’t seem to depend on any specific mail software, but would probably like a full mail setup on your system before jumping in. In Debian; I don’t see this as a discrete package in either Arch or AUR, but it might be incorporated into something else. I don’t see a home page anywhere either. Edit, 6 p.m.: shaggytwodope found a source code repository and made a PKGBUILD if you’re an Archer, or just want a few tips on building it in your distro. Thanks!πŸ˜‰
  • sshcam: This is a new addition within the past couple of days. This streams webcam output into textmode in an ssh terminal. It sounds like great fun, but I don’t have a webcam on any of the machines I own. And if I must be honest, when I do have a machine with a webcam, I put tape over the lens. Don’t ask why.😦 Not in either Debian or Arch/AUR that I know of.:\
  • vigor: Astute Reader No. 2 sent me a link to vigor, probably as a joke. Not only is it a graphical rendition of nvi, but it adds … something … guaranteed to infuriate you. If you want some insight and don’t want to go through installing it, there’s a comic from UserFriendly.org that will let you know what the joke is. In Debian of all things, but nothing that I can find in Arch or AUR. Enjoy at your peril.

That should be it for now. I’m about a third of the way through the bulk of the unapproachable titles, and I’ll try to keep peppering the posts with actual usable programs that I can show. After all, I wouldn’t want this site to devolve into a list of text-based software, without something practical to show. It has already devolved enough as it is. …πŸ™„πŸ˜

7 thoughts on “Bonus: More from the deepest depths of Debian

  1. Theodore

    HI! lsmbox is interesting. I’ve used a script for some time to grep ^from | wc prior fetching and after fetching new mail, maybe this program will be a better solution…

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Hey, thanks a bunch. I’ll change the link to show the home page and point to your PKGBUILD. Cheers!πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Links 26/12/2014: Devuan in the News, New PCLinuxOS | Techrights

  3. Pingback: Bonus: More from the deepest depths of Debian | Inconsolation

  4. Pingback: Bonus: More from the deepest depths of Debian | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.