cryptoslam: Puzzles, and the tool to solve them

I’m going to lump cryptoslam in the games category, even though that’s a little bit of a stretch.

2014-11-09-2sjx281-cryptoslam

cryptoslam is primarily a tool for solving cryptograms, which are a type of encoded word puzzle. Letters in the string have a one-to-one relationship with their coded letter, and if you’re careful and logical you can decipher a message by probing the likelihood of certain combinations.

Ordinarily this is a pencil-and-paper affair, with the encoded message usually representing some nugget of pop wisdom. You can usually find them in newspapers or supermarket checkout lanes, but online sources are available too.

cryptoslam gives you a more efficient platform for solving puzzles. It can store a string, show the letters remaining yet to solve, diagram your progress and even show you statistical charts that cue you in to combinations.

In that sense, you can also reverse the cryptoslam function and feed it an unencoded string, and let it build a coded version. So you have the “option” to make puzzles too. (Check fortune if you need nuggets of wisdom to encode.😉 )

As far as I can tell, cryptoslam doesn’t solve puzzles for you like nsudoku did. And unless you scramble a puzzle and give it to yourself to solve, cryptoslam isn’t really playing a game with you, so much as helping you play a game through another medium.

On those points though, cryptoslam succeeds without doubling its error rate. It has color, an on-screen menu system and enough basic tools to easily take the place of pens and paper. Alone it won’t keep you particularly entertained, but in lieu of traditional methods, it’s a big plus for solving the daily cryptogram. …😉

3 thoughts on “cryptoslam: Puzzles, and the tool to solve them

  1. darkstarsword

    Nice – one of earlier programs I wrote (back in the dark ages while I was using Visual Basic…. ) was to help break substitution ciphers, but I’ve long since lost the source code (maybe it’s on one of my old backups, but I have a feeling I may have lost in a HDD crash).

    Every now and again I come across a puzzle where it would be useful, but I don’t really feel like writing it again from scratch and all the online ones I’ve tried so far are quite inferior to my old code (mine wasn’t exactly great or anything, it’s more that the online ones are complete rubbish).

    It looks like there is still room for improvement in cryptoslam (e.g. show the current mapping, highlight characters that have been mapped to the same character in red), but my first impression is that it is a lot more useful than any of the online ones I’ve tried, and I’ll give it a go the next time I have one of these puzzles to solve. Thanks🙂

  2. darkstarsword

    Maybe not – I’ve just lost the last couple of puzzles I tried while trying to set a letter and accidentally either resetting the cipher or quitting the whole program. Pretty poor UI really.

  3. Pingback: wordsearch: Echoes of primary school | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.