Bonus: A dozen more remainders

I’m just going to start using that same title for all of my lumps of 12 that I can’t get working, can’t understand or can’t find. It’s an easy title to recycle.

Here’s the latest 12 that elude me.

  • earthquake: earthquake is a text-based Twitter client, and I still haven’t opened a Twitter account. Sorry, it’s probably never going to happen.
  • hmp3: An mp3 player written in Haskell. I have a horrid track record with Haskell, and I knew as soon as I saw that, it just wasn’t going to work for me. I had hopes that the AUR package would be able to hold my hand through the process, but it appears that none of the dependencies listed in the PKGBUILD are anywhere in Arch proper or AUR. Go figure.
  • ltxml2: Theodore mentioned ltxml2 a long while back, as more tools for sassifying your XML files. I wasn’t able to build it in Arch, and I couldn’t find it in Debian, unless the Debian overlords gave it a funky name.
  • lxmc: I have lxmc on my list but the home page suggests it’s a conversion tool for the lxmp player. Either way, I couldn’t build it because of a failed dependency (libbass), and I haven’t seen this packaged in any distro yet.
  • massren: I was interested in massren after seeing the animated screenshot on the home page. But apparently it is only for x86_64 architectures, so I left empty-handed.
  • matsuri: ncurses Jabber client, again in Haskell. The AUR package was added in 2009, and depends on some other Haskell AUR packages that have either moved or been removed. Not in Debian either, that I could find.
  • ncnyt: “nc” as in “ncurses,” and “nyt” as in “New York Times.” Ordinarily I’d be on board with a newsreader aimed at a legitimate news source, but this requires developer API keys for the site, and the link from the home page ends at a 404 on github. I’m not sure what was supposed to happen there, but once again I am given the chance to fiddle with github’s amusing 404 page.😉
  • nmh: I thought nmh was an e-mail client, but apparently it’s a mail handler, which I think means it routes and sends mail. Either way, it was asking me stuff I had no clue about, so I put my tail between my legs and slunk away shamefully.
  • saplayer: saplayer, a/k/a sap, looked promising but spat out rampant glib errors on my Arch system (something about “no-arg, optional-arg or filename flags” … I was lost). I don’t see this in other distros, but the Launchpad pages also suggest it’s about four years without an update, so perhaps changes in glib left it in the dust.
  • skypipe: Apparently a CLI tool to access a cloud service. The reader who sent me the link for skypipe said beforehand that it wouldn’t work, because the cloud service it was intended for went to a pay service model. Tsk, tsk. Sellouts.
  • tox: tox is apparently a cli interface for Toxic, which I believe is “a configuration-free P2P Skype replacement.” I have had several people mention tox to me and I’d be quite excited to try it out, but my best attempts to build it from git have crashed and burned in amazing displays of phosphorescent pyrotechnics. I might have just grabbed an unstable version though; I’ll try this one again sometime in the future.
  • twilc: twilc is a text client for Twitter, and as I said at the start … sorry, not interested in Twitter. And it’s only fair, if I’m not going to open accounts at every newspaper, cloud service and social networking site, I should probably stand my ground on the no-Twitter stance.

And so we begin and end with Twitter tools. Just to be clear, I don’t enjoy the demeaning sensation that accompanies lists like this. I’m not eager to show my own ignorance.

I do this mostly for search and archive purposes, so I can remember what I’ve looked at, and what I’ve passed over. After 1000+ posts and 1500+ titles, I get a little hazy on what’s been covered, and what hasn’t.😳

8 thoughts on “Bonus: A dozen more remainders

  1. thisnameisfalse

    nmh consists of a collection of fairly simple single-purpose programs to send, receive, save, retrieve, and manipulate e-mail messages. Since nmh is a suite rather than a single monolithic program, you may freely intersperse nmh commands with other commands at your shell prompt, […]

    Overview: http://rand-mh.sourceforge.net/book/overall/anand.html
    Configuration: http://rand-mh.sourceforge.net/book/overall/setup.html
    Sending mails: http://rand-mh.sourceforge.net/book/mh/sensen.html

    Conclusion: nmh is NOT easy.

  2. Pingback: Bonus: A dozen more remainders | Inconsolation

  3. Pingback: Bonus: A dozen more remainders | Linux Admins

Comments are closed.