forkstat: Catching the small and the quick

It seems to me that the author of forkstat and I have had a similar problem in the past: Sometimes there are small processes that spawn and end so quickly, it’s difficult to catch them on top or in another system tool.

So that’s when forkstat becomes useful.

2014-09-04-6m47421-forkstat

forkstat is simple to control and runs smoothly. You can use flag options to set a run duration, modify the output a little, and ask for a summary of statistics. There is also a small option to filter for specific events.

I’ve already pinned down a couple of spawning-respawning processes that I am wondering if I should (or just could) prune back.

And so forkstat has already proven useful.🙂 If you need something to catch those really small, really fast processes that might be abusing your hospitality, forkstat is probably the man for the job.