ahorcapy: Heir-apparent to the hangman legacy

Linux has a bijillion console text editors, a bijillion console music players, and a bijillion and a half Tetris clones. Oddly, I can only come up with one or two hangman games for the console. Here’s a third: ahorcapy.

2014-08-20-6m47421-ahorcapy-01 2014-08-20-6m47421-ahorcapy-02

Things I like about ahorcapy:

  • Great use of color.
  • Multiple dictionaries to choose from.
  • Potential for custom dictionaries.

I mention custom dictionaries because I can see that ahorcapy expects its word lists at /usr/share/ahorcapy/lists, and I could copy another word list into that directory and ahorcapy included it in its selection process.

I said “potential” because some very big word lists caused ahorcapy to freeze. In other words, copying all of /usr/share/dict/cracklib-small to the lists folder was a bad idea.😐

Things I don’t like about ahorcapy:

  • Inconvenient for custom dictionaries.
  • Doesn’t keep score.
  • No provision for multiplayer.
  • Almost no documentation.

It would be nice if there were a local dictionary folder, maybe at something like .ahorcapy/lists. And everything I can tell you about ahorcapy I’ve learned from experimentation, because there’s no man page, no flags that I could find, and nothing on the home page other than a brief intro (unless a README is hiding somewhere).

That’s okay though, sometimes the software that filters its way down to me is really only intended as private programming experiments, and not for public dissemination. And games get special treatment anyhow.πŸ˜‰