cclive (and clive): So that’s what quvi was for

I knew I had quvi on my list as a component to some other program: clive and cclive are related to it.

2014-07-31-lv-c5551-cclive

That’s cclive specifically; clive was obsoleted sometime last year in favor of cclive, but the two projects are obviously related. Sometimes old versions like that will continue to work, but for me, clive only generated errors.

cclive, on the other hand, works without much prodding. In the above case, just cclive and a URL was more than enough to pull down a YouTube video. Good first try. And a good progress display.😉

In addition to the options that cclive can pass to quvi, there seem to be quite a few flags specific to cclive: download speed caps, useragent masking, retries and timeouts, filename handling and special character controls, plus timestamps, resuming broken downloads and even triggering an external command after a download is finished.

All that being said, it’s still quvi that does the heavy lifting, and it’s the quvi project that determines which sites are compatible. So don’t expect cclive to suddenly make a previously inaccessible site … accessible.

It’s hard for me to pick between this and youtube-dl. I’m accustomed to the latter but I like cclive’s style and structure. I’m not going to advise one or the other — in fact, you wouldn’t be losing much ground by installing them both and trying out each, from time to time.

2 thoughts on “cclive (and clive): So that’s what quvi was for

  1. Pascal C.Plusplus

    From my experience, cclive doesn’t work with Vimeo, where youtube-dl does.

  2. Pingback: Links 3/8/2014: Ubuntu 14.10 Alpha 2, XBMC Becomes ‘Kodi’ | Techrights

Comments are closed.