quvi: Build your own video downloader

I have quvi in my list of applications and I’m not sure how or why it got there, but that’s what ls vimwiki/ | shuf -n1 selected for me today.

I don’t have a lot to show for quvi, because as I understand it, quvi and its related libraries are really just the tools to build your own video downloader.

2014-07-17-6m47421-quvi

quvi does, technically, handle all the important tasks that you might otherwise assign to just one tool, like youtube-dl or one of these.

I can see the usefulness in this. If a particular site has eccentricities that aren’t handled by other video downloaders, quvi allows you to take matters into your own hands.

No good can come of that. 😯

Just kidding. 😀 I do believe that between the four tools — info, scan, dump and get — quvi has all the major tasks in hand. Which really just means it’s up to you to assemble all the pieces into a workable order.

When you do, let us take a look at it. I promise we will be fair. 😈

8 thoughts on “quvi: Build your own video downloader

  1. Theodore

    I’ve heard here and there about this quvi, I think it’s time to try it. Just because it should pull less ram than a python interpreter (I use youtube-dl a lot 😀 )

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      I use youtube-dl a lot too, more than I expected I would. Of course, with such a crappy Internet connection, I can at least pull down a Flash version of a video, and get a general idea of what I was trying to watch. 😐

  2. Milos

    I use quvi in conjunction with elinks instead of youtube-dl, it works just better for me.
    And it doesn’t break with every YT update as youtube-dl often does.

    Elinks options: Document-URI passing
    to play a video:
    mplayer -af volnorm=2 $(quvi dump -p rfc2483 -S %c | grep -E -m 1 \”itag=(44|35|19|43|18)\”) &>/dev/null
    actually quvi dump -e \”mplayer %%u\” %c would suffice, but I don’t want to pull the highest resolution.

    to download a video:
    quvi get -b quiet -i /home/user/Downloads -g \”%%t:s/,//\” -g \”%%t:s/\\s+/_/\” -g \”%%t:s/_-_/_/\” %c
    the -g switch makes it possible to replace unwanted patterns in the file name – like whitespaces.

  3. Pingback: Links 19/7/2014: CRUX 3.1 is Out, CyanogenMod Competes With Google Now | Techrights

  4. Milos

    Recently I found a better solution to view videos:
    mplayer -af volnorm=2 $(quvi dump -p rfc2483 -s i44,i35,i19,i43,i18 %c | grep ^http) &>/dev/null
    The difference is, that if grep fails in the previous case, you don’t get any video, but if the quvi pattern match fails, quvi dump will use the defalt video stream.

  5. Theodore

    And then… it has happened.This afternoon quvi worked (gave me a link I fed to vlc) where youtube-dl failed.

  6. Pingback: cclive (and clive): So that’s what quvi was for | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.