t, ttytter, twidge and more: Text-only Twittermania

I don’t use Twitter, nor do I read much from it. I don’t have much faith in the Internet on the whole, and what little I’ve seen of Twitter doesn’t do much to bolster my opinion of it.

I appreciate that many people find it useful though, and I suppose given the number of text-based Twitter applications that are available, I should read a little more importance into it.

To date, I’ve seen identibash and identicurse, although neither one worked for me, bti and turses. Today I’ll add t (not that t), ttytter, dtweet, two or three others, and as a bonus … a Twitter script that someone sent me a very long time ago and even though I said “thank you” I knew I’d never get a chance to use it. 😦

I’m going to pitch these in the same way I did 2048.c and its clones, and the run through terminal recorders from a few days ago. I realize that’s a disservice to the software and to you — the program doesn’t get a chance to shine and you don’t get an overview of what they do.

But without an account, very few of these were usable for me, even if most were installable. In any case, I can offer no guidance.

t

The home page says t is a “power tool for Twitter;” I’ll let you decide if that’s true or not. I do notice that t can, with the help of some rather clever CLI gymnastics, do things like “unfollow 10 people who haven’t tweeted in the longest time” or “randomly follow someone who follows you who you don’t already follow.”

Of course, having said that, it may prove that the value of t is directly proportional to your ability to wave magic tricks around it, with other text-based wizardry. In other words, it might not be for beginners. P.S., ruby-based, if that matters to you. P.P.S., very recent updates, if that matters to you. 😉

ttytter

2014-06-02-6m47421-ttytter

Quite confidently, ttytter is a command-line twitter interface written in perl. I don’t see much in updates since the beginning of 2013, but that doesn’t mean it’s not still functional. Includes some information on advanced usage, which apparently includes building a twitterbot.

Edit, June 18: ilakast sent along a screenshot of ttytter in action.

ilakast-Screenshot_160614_20_40_29

A great big thank-you for that. 😉

ttytter might be the tool with the best (most?) documentation; I daresay if you’re looking for something a little more than just jabbing at the air with 140 characters or less, ttytter would be a good pick.

dtweet

I’ll mention dtweet even though it doesn’t really fit into the box today. As I understand it, dtweet is a fork of suckless.org’s dmenu that is intended to splice with ttytter.

I know dmenu is strictly graphical, even if there are comparable tools that exist for the command line. I don’t feel it’s out of place here though, given that a large number of text-only advocates spend their working hours in a graphical environment cut specifically for text-based applications. But don’t take my word for it.

twidge

twidge claims to support twitter and identi.ca and status.net, but again, I have no way to verify that. Of the features that I read about, the most interesting (from my perspective) would be e-mail integration, which I believe would bounce tweets to your e-mail account, and automatic URL shortening. And you don’t even need surl for that.

The author of twidge seems to have shell scripting and ease-of-use in mind for both beginning and advanced users; I can’t vouch for that either, but it’s nice to see someone make a claim for minimalism in this day and age. 😉

twitmail

Of all these tools, I think twitmail is the one I could sink my teeth into. As I see it, and I do mean “see” it, twitmail wrangles with the Twitter product and recasts it e-mail style.

Call me old-fashioned, but that makes the most sense to me, off-hand. tweets are arranged as messages, with a dedicated viewing area. Discussions branch like threads. I know it’s probably unconventional, but this would be the one I’d try first. P.S., needs some CPAN support.

twyt

I’ll link to twyt even though I’m not sure it’s really a proper command line program. It seems like it was just a way of accessing the Twitter API through python, and the home page says it is now discontinued. All the same, this page suggests it was (or is, I don’t know) possible to conduct your Extremely Serious Twitter Business with twyt. I leave it to you to find out how. 😉

tyrs

2014-06-02-6m47421-tyrs

tyrs is available on github, but its home page and documentation have vanished. There is a git version in AUR that must build three or four other 2.6-era AUR packages before python-based tyrs will assemble itself, but starting it seemed to go fine. Naturally, I didn’t get far beyond what you see above.

tyrs claims to support UTF-8, colors and transparency, which might appeal to the aforementioned X-based text-only advocates. It also says it can handle ur1.ca, bit.ly and goo.gl, if you use those services instead.

If tyrs works for you, I can only hope that you have enough knowledge or intuition to get by without the home page and whatever documentation it offered. tyrs is not a new program, but python has changed a lot since 2012. Best of luck with that one.

Tweeting from the command line

Last but not least, for the real fire-eaters in the audience, I have a simple 10-line shell script that claims it can do most of your Twitter workload without requiring an external program at all. Just you, bash and your lonely network interface.

That page is very dated though. Like I mentioned, I got that quite some time ago from someone said it was what they preferred, but I have a feeling, five years later, it might not do the job. Your mileage may vary.


And that’s all. I know there are probably as many more Twittertools out there and if you like, you can send them in. I’ll probably just add them to this page rather than give them a spotlight though, because my main problem is that I can’t test them practically. So feel free to contribute, but be forewarned: I can offer no guidance. :mrgreen:

3 thoughts on “t, ttytter, twidge and more: Text-only Twittermania

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Ah, it’s possible I had one on my list and found the other. Thanks for the link; I’ll tack these on at the end of the post, in case someone comes looking for them. Cheers! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Bonus: A dozen more remainders | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.