Bonus: S is for squashed

Lo and behold, the S section is apparently finished. And it only took … a month. 😐

The remainder is here, with the usual obligatory omissions. For whatever reason, this section seems to have a lot of tools aimed at servers or intrusion detection. Maybe that’s just a confirmation bias though. Either way, settle in and pick through what’s left.

  • samba and smb-nat: File and print services for non-Linux systems. Not really an application, per se.
  • samhain: samhain is an integrity checker and host intrusion detection system. I think that might make it a little more useful for servers, and not for simple desktops like mine.
  • sara: Network scanning tool that dates back to 1995 in some versions. Unfortunately, it crashed when I tried to build it.
  • sash: I’m a little foggy on what exactly sash does, but I do understand it to be a backup shell. I’m stepping over shells, as usual.
  • scanimage: Part of the sane project for scanning images. I don’t have a scanner, so you’ll have to tell me how it goes.
  • scanners: Um … what?
  • scanrand: Another intrusion detection measure. Apparently this is part of paketto, which 404s wherever I go.
  • scram: An e-mail scanner that would claims to be modular. This would unfortunately require a huge e-mail setup that I just can’t go through. Especially since it’s 10 years old.
  • scrot: I love scrot and use it almost daily to take the snapshots that you see here, but it’s not really a command-line application. πŸ™„
  • secstore: Server authentication from the Plan 9 gang. I’ll just keep moving. …
  • sentinel: The download link for this ends in a 404; I don’t have any other links and it’s a bit tough to pin down.
  • services: I can only wonder what I meant by that.
  • set: If this is the same “set” that I think it is, it’s a shell function and not one worth digging into.
  • setenv: This too is a shell function, unless I’m mistaken. I don’t have anything against shell functions, really. I just don’t think they usually function as complete programs, and usually change if you swap out shells. Don’t take it personally.
  • sethi: This is not just one tool, but a group of applications and scripts. I stopped trying them after the first three or four didn’ work. Probably just out of date.
  • sh: Part of bash.
  • shadow: Password management suite; in Debian as passwd. Talked quickly about this back in the P section.
  • shapecfg: Supposedly a traffic shaper bandwidth limiter doodad. Couldn’t find this in either Debian or Arch, but there is an Ubuntu man page for it … from the Hardy Heron era. πŸ™„
  • shfs-utils: Seemingly out of use since 2004, and the Arch wiki suggests sshfs is preferred. Either way, this is a network filesystem, not really an application.
  • shift: Another shell command, this shifts arguments and isn’t really an application or utility.
  • silkweave: Supposedly builds websites out of static content, a folder at a time. I can’t get it running against ruby in Arch; it shows an error in “requires” or something like that. Fails in Mint too.
  • sing: A ping replacement; not in Debian and fails to build from AUR.
  • sixpack: “Sam’s Interface for XAS Package, or SIXPACK for short, is the unification of the previously named SamXAS and SamView programs into a single analysis package. Thus the package can guide the user through data averaging and calibration, background removal, and many aspects of fitting.” I have no idea what any of that means.
  • sked: Every version I see of this appears to be graphical. Needs pygtk too. Not in Arch or Debian.
  • slitechat: A chat client specific to the Second Life game (is it a game?). I’ll let you try this out, if you play Second Life.
  • sms client: I left that as an entry on the list, but I’ll be darned if I can remember what it was.
  • snoop: The home page appears to be dead, and there’s nothing called “snoop” in Arch or Debian. I did find a “snoopy,” “snooper” and “ttysnoop” though.
  • snort: Another intrusion detection system. It compiled, but did nothing but give me errors about “pcap DAQ.” It’s probably just as well; I have no idea what I’d do with it.
  • snuff: Snuff looked interesting; it comes from the same author as pork. I understand it’s an anti-spam tool, but apparently needs qmail to set up, and it’s not so interesting that I want to go through setting up everything involved in getting qmail to run.
  • solver: Again, a little tough to figure out what I meant here.
  • space.menu: I am not sure why this is on my list, and since space.menu is common coding for some wikis, a brute search for “space.menu” yields an immense amount of unrelated stuff. It’s possible this is just some kind of typo.
  • spike proxy: Seeks out application-level vulnerabilities in web applications. Waaay out of my league.
  • spike: Is either related to spike proxy, above, or … is a child management system. 😯 There are child management systems? πŸ˜•
  • split2flac: I wanted to try this, but I don’t have any single-album flac files and matching cue sheets. And I couldn’t even find an illegitimate one to download. Does anyone still rip to a single flac file and cue sheet?
  • spm: Simple pasword manager. Not in Arch or Debian, and the github link ends in a 404.
  • sql-ledger: A web-based accounting system that runs with SQL. And apache. And … I’m on to the next one.
  • sql query generator: I can’t find this anywhere; it might be another name for sqlite3.
  • srcpac: A wrapper for building from source with pacman. I installed this once a long time ago but didn’t find it particularly useful. It’s only available in Arch, as you might have guessed.
  • srs: “The Sender Rewriting Scheme preserves .forward functionality in an SPF-compliant world. SPF requires the SMTP client IP to match the envelope sender (return-path).” My notes for this say, “So completely esoteric as to be completely unapproachable.”
  • ssh with voip: For some reason I have this listed independently of any application. Sometimes I look at my list and wonder if I have Alzheimer’s. 😦
  • sshfs: I strongly recommend trying out sshfs at least once, if you have even a tiny network to transfer information around. Unfortunately, it’s still more of a filesystem than an application. 😦
  • sshguard: Monitors servers for logging activity. If it detects something suspicious, it suspends the remote connection for a bit. Regardless, I’d need a server setup to try it out.
  • sshmitm and sshow: Both part of the dsniff suite. I don’t have anything against the dsniff tools, I just suspect they would take longer to set up than is practical for me.
  • sslh: Accepts specific connections, then forwards them based on their packet data. Sounds nifty, but also sounds like I’d need a full-scale server to test it.
  • stash: Pastebin-ish tool. Needs an account. Got an account. Couldn’t get stash to work. May try again later. May stick with normal pastebin-ish tools that don’t require accounts. πŸ‘Ώ
  • stone: A simple repeater, listening for data on one connection and relaying it. Again, seems like I’d need a lot bigger setup to put this to use.
  • stunnel: An SSL encryption wrapper between client and server. Again, fairly certain this is beyond my technical bound. The howto doesn’t look difficult, just a bit specific to certain cases, and unlikely to yield much to look at.
  • subversion: Revision control system.
  • sunrisesunset: I left myself no clues here. It might refer to astro::sunrise for perl.
  • supersniffer: Everything I found on this suggests it’s some kind of spyware or virus. K.Mandla’s List has sunk to a new low. 😦
  • svgatextmode: This dates back quite a ways into Linux history; it was a way to improve the text modes available to a machine by tapping into extra features available on SVGA cards. I have heard, but never seen, that it was quite an improvement for its day. Of course, the best references I can find suggest it fell by the wayside not long after the turn of the century, meaning it’s very unlikely I’ll ever see it in action.
  • swatch: I actually managed to get swatch installed and working — configuration was the tough part, try this for help. Unfortunately, after I got it in place and running, I realized … there wasn’t really anything for me to monitor. Which is why I tend to skip over programs that are intended for the server crowd.
  • swscanner: I am fairly certain this is graphical only.
  • sync: sync is another gem out of coreutils, but this time I realized that sync only does one thing: writes out changed blocks to disk, then updates the super block. No output. Only takes two flags — help and version. There’s nothing to show, even if I do use it almost every day. 😐
  • systrace: systrace sounds like some sort of apparmor utility, restricting applications to certain parts of the system. Unfortunately, it’s not in Debian and it refused to build in Arch. C’est la vie.

I started with 114 titles, and ended up with roughly half working and half broken, missing or just outside my league. If I weren’t so close to the end of the alphabet, I’d go through and scrape out anything questionable from the remaining titles, and save myself a lot of wasted time. … πŸ‘Ώ

One thought on “Bonus: S is for squashed

Comments are closed.