surl: No, not “surly.” Just surl

So far I’ve seen about a half-dozen pastebin-interface-type tools for the console, but I do believe surl is the first URL-shortener.

kmandla@6m47421: ~$ surl -c http://www.google.com -s tinyurl.com
http://tinyurl.com/1c2

You can check that and see if it works. I don’t know what the expiration is for tinyurl.com, but you can trust me. I’m from the Internet. 🙄

surl definitely falls into that category of “Oh, of course, that’s so obvious” tools. Before I came across it I never thought once about a tool to send URLs through shortening services, and reply with the link.

Now I have to wonder why there aren’t more. 😦

There probably are, and I just don’t know about them. Every day, something new. … 🙂

You can jam URLs straight into surl if you like, or pipe them in backwards if that’s your thing. surl is also, apparently, capable of parsing strings of text and pulling out URLs, and replacing them with shortlinks in its output. That’s pretty clever.

surl’s repertoire is likewise impressive, and since some of its clientele requires passwords or API keys, the fact that surl can handle those minor details is even more impressive. I won’t bore you with a list of what surl knows; install it and the --help flag will list them.

Bad news for Debian fans: This one doesn’t appear in your repos. If it’s any consolation though, I am fairly certain it wouldn’t take much effort to get it installed.

I might keep surl around for a little while longer; it’s not often that I need a shortened URL, but I want it on hand when I finally do. 😉

2 thoughts on “surl: No, not “surly.” Just surl

  1. Pingback: t, ttytter, twidge and more: Text-only Twittermania | Inconsolation

  2. Pingback: wgetpaste: A healthy collection of features | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.