scanlogd: Nothing to see here

I’m a little behind the power curve today, after spending the day with some curious computer issues, which may or may not be related to hardware upgrades.

Also a curious issue: scanlogd. The curious part being, I am afraid I don’t have anything to show for it.

kmandla@j05sdg1 ~ $ sudo scanlogd
kmandla@j05sdg1 ~ $ 

If something beyond that is supposed to happen, I can’t see how it comes about.

I’ve been working with the Debian version, which installs and starts without issue, but doesn’t … really … seem to show anything for the (miniscule) effort involved.

I read through the man page, and maybe that lack of output is OK. It seems it shouldn’t really do anything unless someone attempts to scan ports on that machine — in which case it should just make a note of the attempt somewhere in /var/log.

Which is very very unlikely to happen, given that scanlogd is just wallowing around on my home network.

I will leave it to the more knowledgeable server managers to see if it is of any use. As for me, as a lowly desktop user, this doesn’t seem to have a function. 😦

