rubyripper: The options continue to multiply

I should apologize for the gap in communications for a few days this week. I was preoccupied with some personal events, and as luck would have it, I find I am also beset with computer issues. More on that later.

For now, rubyripper is next on the Master List.

2014-04-13-6m47421-rubyripper-01 2014-04-13-6m47421-rubyripper-02 2014-04-13-6m47421-rubyripper-03

We just saw ripit a week ago or so, and while it’s true that there’s only so much you can do with a console-based CD ripper utility, rubyripper seems quite competent.

True, it doesn’t seem to have as many low-level controls as ripit, but there are distinct audiences among computer users, and for some, a simpler, quicker interaction (notice I didn’t say “interface”) is better.

So much as you can see above, rubyripper has options to rip to flac, ogg or mp3, with command-line flag controls manually edited. Suffice to say, if you don’t know what the controls are for lame, you’ll probably just want to keep the defaults. 😉

One thing I like about rubyripper is the default rip location. Without any prompting, rubyripper dropped the resulting tracks into a folder called “vorbis,” which kept them from polluting my home directory. My OCPD thanks you, rubyripper.

abcde is my first-line pick for console CD ripping, but rubyripper has its charms. Following the theme I mentioned with ripit though, sometimes it’s not so much about the overarching program as the underlying support software.

A sad note: It seems the author has drifted away from the project, citing a lack of need to rip CDs any longer, since online services are quicker and easier. Much like I have said several times over, there doesn’t seem to be much call for CD conversion, and I don’t even know how many of my friends own CDs any longer. 😦

It’s the circle of life.

One last bonus with rubyripper: Install ruby-gtk2 and get … a graphical interface!

2014-04-13-6m47421-rubyripper-gui

I don’t see rubyripper in Debian, which is a bit of a shame. So … Arch 🙂 Debian 😦 That could always change though. 😉

2 thoughts on “rubyripper: The options continue to multiply

  1. Pingback: Links 15/4/2014: Lots of PCLinuxOS Releases, Ukraine Updates | Techrights

  2. Dr Dreyeth

    CDs are still current the way to have control of you’re media since you get it from a lossless
    source, and can do a correct conversion from lossess to any lossy format you need at the time.

Comments are closed.