Bonus: Q is for quietus

I do believe Q was the shortest section. Here’s what’s left, and this time I don’t even think my self-imposed restrictions were needed.

  • qemu: I know technically speaking qemu is run at the CLI, but I don’t know that I’ve ever seen it work outside of X, if that makes sense. I suppose I should give it the same due diligence that mplayer, etc., got, but that list is growing rather long.
  • qtrace: This appears to be graphical.
  • quake2: I mention quake2 here but really it’s aaquake2, which I mention obliquely since we technically already skimmed past the aalib. It would be marvelous to see and I can attest to trying it briefly a few years back, but it might be more effort than is practical. You try it and tell us how it goes.
  • query: I can only shake my head and wonder what I meant when I added this to my list. 😦
  • quintuple-agent: The only link I have for this is dead. I believe it was some sort of password protection or file encryption tool.

And that’s it. 🙂

Of course, now we really have to buckle down, and charge into the R section. Take a deep breath. … 😯

2 thoughts on “Bonus: Q is for quietus

  1. xwhatsit

    I use qemu quite frequently from the command-line; it’s very handy for Linux virtual machines (building against different distributions etc.). Qemu supports a very nice curses output mode, which gives you all of your boot messages etc. (even grub shows up), and ultimately a login prompt.

    More often than not I just start it up then use ssh to log into it locally, as that way you have a bigger `screen’ and scrollback etc.

    Never tried to start X from within this curses mode—somebody should implement aalib mode!

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      That’s a good point, actually. I shouldn’t sell qemu short. I’ll add it to the list again and catch it on the next loop through. 😉

Comments are closed.