queso: Use TCP packets to guess OSes

I honestly didn’t think I’d run into networking tools in the Q section, but here it is. This is queso:

2014-03-24-lv-r1fz6-queso

Networking is not my strong point, but if I understand the documentation files correctly, queso tries to guess the operating system of a remote machine by judging just TCP packets.

Much of that ability is riding on the included queso.conf file, which seems to have all the different operating systems marked out by packet contents.

I believe queso uses that information to try and pin down the operating system working on its target.

As you can see, most of my efforts were less than successful, and of course any time that happens I assume the error is mine. Most of my attempts to connect beyond my own network came back with responses of “Dead Host, Firewalled Port or Unassigned IP.”

I assume that means I’m doing something wrong. πŸ˜• Of course, all the files in the tarball date back to 1998, so it may just be that queso is beyond its expiration date. πŸ™„

It could also be something as simple as the need to update queso’s configuration file. If tools like this are of interest to you, take a look and see if you can help.

queso is not in Arch or AUR, and not in Debian either. It’s a free roaming program! πŸ˜‰