Bonus: P is for pushing up daisies

Well that was no mean feat. Almost exactly a month after starting the section, I find an end to my list of titles that start with letter P.

Of course, there are a healthy number of leftovers, and more than one that is probably functional, but I lack the expertise or components to put it to use. So please feel free to sift through the remainder; there may still be some diamonds left in there.

As always, the same restrictions apply. Let’s begin.

  • p7zip: Compression tool, so I skipped it.
  • paketto: Supposedly a proxying service for a LAN, but all the links are dead to all the versions. I’m getting “access denied” for everything.
  • Palm command line tools: I think that’s the correct link; these are mostly command line tools for accessing Palm devices. I don’t have a Palm device, so this is unreachable to me.
  • palm-link: Again, I don’t have a Palm device, but it doesn’t matter this time because I can’t seem to find this anyway. 😦
  • paros: Evaluates the security of web applications. Also appears to be graphical only.
  • password-wallet: This is also lost to me.
  • pcregrep: Not “pc-re-grep,” but “pcre-grep.” I believe this is a grep tool that can use perl regular expressions. Not to be finicky but I don’t know that there’s much here that wasn’t covered with standard grep. If you’re familiar with perl, it might be a little easier to use than the regular version.
  • pdfmap: A Python mapping tool from 2004. Unfortunately, it spits out Python errors when it starts, which I suppose might be expected.
  • pdfsam: I spent a lot of time working with this, but couldn’t seem to get it to work outside of its graphical version.
  • pdftops: This converts from PDF to Postscript, but is actually part of poppler, which I believe is the basis for a lot of X-based PDF readers.
  • pdksh: A clone of the AT&T Korn shell. I’m skipping shells. 😉
  • pgp: I am a little confused as to why this is in my list. I know about PGP, and I understand that gnupg follows its lead. There seem to be a lot of vaguely related tools for PGP in Debian, but none just called “pgp.” I have a feeling this is a typo.
  • PhantomJS: A “headless WebKit scriptable with a JavaScript API.” I understand more or less what this is, but I’m not sure how I could put it to use beyond another application — like elinks — that employs it.
  • pickt: I strongly suspect this is another typo. That could be pocket or packet or any variation thereof.
  • pie: This too is suspiciously difficult to pin down. If nobody has written a Linux application named “pie,” someone should claim the name. I suppose this could actually be pi, and it was just mistyped.
  • pilot-link: I don’t have a Pilot device to test this with. And no, I’m not going to buy one just for that purpose. 😉
  • pine: The original e-mail reader from the University of Washington in the United States. I’m going to pull rank and say this is done, since I’ve already glossed over alpine (and re-alpine, technically).
  • pino: If I have the right “pino,” this is definitely graphical.
  • pkgtools: I have used pkgtools in the past and at times it can be very helpful, but it’s mostly a set of scripts aimed at package management for Arch. I’d like to stick to applications with a wider audience.
  • pload: I can find references to pload as a network device statistics monitor. But from what I gather, it was part of an old version of Debian, and may have been phased out. I also find references to the Athena widget set, which suggests to me not only its age, but the fact that it might be graphical.
  • pmacct: I may be committing an oversight here, but I stepped over pmacct because of the sheer complexity and my strong suspicion that it was far more than a normal desktop user would ever need. pmacct is a network statistics suite, which includes frontend tools, data export tools, a grapher, a virtualisation tool, and a lot more. But what I inferred from the web site and help pages was that it was geared toward the high-end server demographic. For what it’s worth, I will also mention captrap, which are perl scripts aimed at network accounting with pmacct. pmacct is in both Debian and AUR; captrap is in neither.
  • polly: A Twitter client that is only graphical, I believe.
  • portbunny: The AUR version would not build for me, and I looked for but couldn’t find this in Debian.
  • postgresql: I’ll just say it out loud: This is way beyond my reach. 😯
  • potion: potion is apparently a homegrown programming language. I’m still working on Commodore 64 Basic. 🙄
  • prismstumbler: Reading the description for prismstumbler, I wonder if it doesn’t work like a police scanner. Either way, I couldn’t get prismstumbler to work in Arch, and it’s not in Debian. I know it’s a bit out of date; it asks for sqlite libraries, but then doesn’t seem to follow the path to them. It appears to be graphical anyway, so perhaps it doesn’t matter.
  • proxy and proxies: I am not sure why I had these two as separate entries in my list. There’s no telling what these were intended to be. … 🙄
  • proxycheck: I can’t quite discern what I am supposed to do with this. I suspect it is a way of reversing direction and testing your own proxy service, but that’s a bit complex for poor little me. 😦 It’s also a decade old, so it might have fallen out of use.
  • psh: I think this is a shell designed to give access to perl functions, which I suppose would be cool if you were a real perl fan.
  • ptrace-parasite: I don’t think this is an actual application. I suspect it’s just a snippet of example code for the kernel, made way back in 2011.
  • pwck, pwconv and pwunconv: These are tools out of shadow (or passwd in Debian) mostly aimed at password integrity maintenance, for what I can tell. Probably these are already installed on your computer. I didn’t include them partly because I was afraid I’d royally screw up my system by tinkering with them, but also because I didn’t see much day-to-day use for them, aside from sysadmins.
  • pycarddav: pycarddav installed cleanly, gave me no errors and needed no eccentric setup. Unfortunately, it apparently only works if you have an address book on a remote server, which it will download and manage locally. It also seems keen on integrating with mutt, and while I can handle that, I still don’t have a workable address database anywhere. So, final analysis: Probably works great, but I lack the required parts to get it going. 😦
  • pyodconverter: An OpenOffice document converter that was interesting until it asked for all of openoffice-base to be installed as a dependency. Nope.
  • pysh: A python shell, which again might be interesting for some folks. I also found reference to something called “pyshell” in AUR, but the home page is gone and the source is unavailable.
  • python interpreter: I have this in my list, but I’m not sure what I meant to do with it, other than show the startup message and help(). I suppose it’s a console application … 🙄
  • pytris: A Tetris clone written as a Python experiment; I couldn’t get it to run in Arch, but I suspect I was missing some critical python library.
  • pytube: The home page suggests this is “pythonic bindings for the YouTube API.” It wouldn’t build in Arch, and is not in Debian.

That’s an impressive list. I suppose logic says there were probably about 100 names in my list, and around 48 to 50 of them made into these pages over the course of the month. That’s about the same percentage I have seen for previous letters, so I’m not disappointed.

Q will be short. I promise. 😉

2 thoughts on “Bonus: P is for pushing up daisies

  1. Pingback: Bonus: S is for squashed | Inconsolation

  2. Pingback: Bonus: A score of games after a score of games | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.