pwcrypt: On-the-fly password encryption

I like finding applications that are 10 or 15 years old, and discovering that they still work fine in spite of their age.

To the best of my knowledge, pwcrypt works just as well now as it did way back in 2000, when it was released into the wild.

2014-03-19-lv-r1fz6-pwcrypt

If I understand the README file right, pwcrypt allows you to inject a password and have it display as encrypted text, which might be useful in scripts and so forth.

I can’t think of a reason offhand that I would need it, personally, but it’s possible that you might see a niche where it will fit. The author has some better suggestions in the documentation.

pwcrypt has about five options, none of which are difficult to decode. And as you can see in the screenshot, it seems to do its job well … inasmuch as the results are completely indecipherable to me. 🙄

Believe it or not, that’s about all I can think of to say. It’s a short little program, it didn’t give me any stress in compiling, and it seems to do what it claims.

Can’t ask for more than that. 😀

P.S.: This one is not in AUR or Debian. A wild program, running free! 😯

2 thoughts on “pwcrypt: On-the-fly password encryption

  1. CorkyAgain

    It feels strange to hear the word “old” applied to things from the year 2000. But there it is again. I must be getting old myself.

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Don’t take it personally. 😉 I spent some years working on mainframes and tape drives, so I know what “old” really is.

      I only mention when a program is out-of-date by more than four or five years because occasionally it causes compatibility issues. 🙂

Comments are closed.