parted: The forgotten partition tool

Maybe it’s just me, but when I need access to disk partitions, I have a tendency to either run for fdisk or cfdisk. parted just never comes to mind.

I will list that as a flaw in my character, since I have no reason to doubt that parted is just as effective and powerful as its counterparts.

2014-02-22-lv-r1fz6-parted

Unfortunately there’s not much I can show about parted in action, lest I scramble my hard drive so badly as to require Clonezilla to repair it.

And while I like you all, I’m not ready for that kind of commitment. 😛

As far as how parted compares to fdisk, or for that matter to cfdisk, I don’t see much that differs. The man pages suggest they both are capable of manipulating or creating partitions. Obviously they both have their own styles.

And of course if you distill the Internet and decant the same question from it, you get a mish-mosh of opinions and unhelpful posts decrying one or the other.

So I leave it to you to decide which you prefer. The fact that you have a choice at all is what matters.

2 thoughts on “parted: The forgotten partition tool

  1. cyrano

    for us, parted is not forgotten. we used it every day to formated virtual machines in the shell. its better and secure to used than cfdisk.

  2. Pingback: cfdisk: Somehow overlooked | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.