Bonus: N is for no more

Surprised? The N section has come to a close, and I do think it was more prolific than the M’s were.

N was not without its casualties though, whether to my ignorance, my lack of requisite equipment, or the sands of time. What follows is what was omitted from my list, with the usual filters in place:

  1. No shells;
  2. No codec-specific audio players;
  3. No compression-specific tools;
  4. No revision control systems; and
  5. No firewall tools.

My rationale for those is … well … somewhere else on this blog. Ask me and I’ll dig it out.

So here’s the rundown on the remainders.

  • nagios: Network monitoring software. I tried a couple of jabs at installing and configuring this, but I believe it’s intended for server systems.
  • nanoblogger: This is a blog backend, and WordPress.com won’t let me install my own blog software. Imagine that.
  • nanodc++: This is an ncurses client for the Direct Connect file sharing network, and unfortunately wouldn’t build for me in Arch. There’s nothing in Debian for this.
  • nation: I really need to leave myself better hints than this. 😐
  • ncmpc: I know this is technically separate from ncmpcpp, but they looked similar enough at first glance to decide I covered it last year.
  • ncxmms: Similarly, I covered ncxmms2 last year, and the home page for version 1 appears to be unreachable.
  • nebula3: I can’t find any reference to “nebula,” although there are some other titles that use “nebula,” but don’t look related to Linux. Is it cluster services software? I’m not sure.
  • nedmail: This is not in Arch/AUR or Debian, and most search engines seem to think this is a misspelling of “sendmail.” It sounds familiar to me, but I can’t seem to track it down.
  • neped: Supposedly a network connection detector, the only link I have for this is 404ing.
  • nessus: I believe this is graphical only. Of course, after ntop, maybe that’s no reason to omit it. 🙄
  • net-monitor: This little network monitor is on my list from years ago, but the trail of crumbs leading back to the source … has dried up.
  • netactuator: Billed as a network management tool, I can build it but can’t get it to work. Instructions are in a language I can’t read, and I don’t see many other clues.
  • netcfg: I believe this is only graphical. Please correct me if I’m wrong.
  • netmrg: Another network monitoring tool aimed at servers, I believe. I started to install this and it dragged in apache, et alia. That was sign enough it didn’t really apply to my little laptop.
  • netping: The only “netping’s” I could find were a perl module and a Windows program.
  • netstat-nat: Supposedly this wants the netfilter module, and even asks for it if it can’t find what it wants. Unfortunately I can’t find a matching module in Arch, and nothing vaguely related would kick it into action.
  • nextls: A music manager … that needs PHP and MySQL. That seemed a little too much to set up to manage my meager 5Gb ogg collection.
  • nfs: You might have been looking forward to NFS, but I skipped over it because it’s more of a file system than a program. Which is not by any means a detriment to NFS, only a chance to abbreviate the list a little.
  • ninjam: This was a bit mystifying to me. As I understand it, it’s a tool for musicians to play in unison over the Internet — no small feat. It also seems that it needs a server, clients and a number of musicians greater than zero. Unfortunately, I have all the musical ability of a brick.
  • nn: This was equally confusing to set up. No matter what news address I gave it, nn replied with “Failed to find name of NNTP server!” This looked vaguely interesting; if you can give me some clues, I would be thankful.
  • notefinder: I found a Freecode page, but the home page is empty. No really, it’s empty. Look for yourself. 😐
  • npaste-client: Source code is gone, link is unavailable, and comments on the AUR page suggest that has been the case for several months.
  • nsmon: This is not in Arch/AUR or Debian, although I did find a Windows executable called nsmon.exe. A network monitoring tool, apparently again for server setups.
  • ntalk: This is also missing from Arch/AUR and Debian, and won’t build on its own. I think it also requires a server program, ntalk-server, which I can’t seem to find anywhere.
  • ntlmaps: “‘NTLM Authorization Proxy Server’ (APS) is a proxy software that allows you to authenticate via an MS Proxy Server (e.g. ISA server) using the proprietary NTLM protocol.” I am afraid I don’t even know what that means.
  • ntsysv: I believe this is (was?) Red Hat’s tool for activating or deactivating services and managing runlevels. I strongly suspect this is obsolete. If you’re curious, start at this page.
  • nubo: nubo sounds like an interesting tool: It starts up multiple virtual machines on separate could services. The unfortunate part is, I don’t have accounts on different cloud services, so I’m a bit shorthanded to try this out.

And that’s where the list ends. About 30 no-shows and 25 accomplished titles, meaning about 45 percent of the titles collected over the years were still more or less active and functional. It does make me wonder if I should be more discriminating in the future. 😕

15 thoughts on “Bonus: N is for no more

  1. boudiccas

    ‘nanoblogger’ is very good for a static site of plain text posts, but it was never designed for use with WordPress. For that you need to use ‘org2blog’ and emacs, which works extremely well, I’ve just used it to post another article to my WordPress blog at http://www.sharons.org.uk/

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Thanks, I will add that to my list. I was just joking when I suggested WordPress.com allow me to change the software. I’ve had complaints about the WordPress.com backend for years, so that was just a personal dig at my host. 😉

  2. thisnameisfalse

    In source code of “nn” package from debian webpage, nn.1.nnmaster manpage says (in FILES section):

    /usr/local/lib/nntp_server Name of remote nntp server

    I have not check debian specific patches to nn sourcecode, so you should search a nntp_server somewhere in your system. I used NNTP many many years ago, and with other clients you need to specify server in a environmental variable before calling client, something like

    $ NNTP_SERVER=”blablabla” /path/to/client

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Hmm. I could swear I tried changing those settings, but nothing seemed to work. I’ll give it another shot, and see if I have better luck. Thanks again. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Bonus: O is for over and out | Inconsolation

  4. Pingback: Bonus: P is for pushing up daisies | Inconsolation

  5. Pingback: Bonus: Q is for quietus | Inconsolation

  6. Pingback: Bonus: R is for released | Inconsolation

  7. Pingback: Bonus: S is for squashed | Inconsolation

  8. Pingback: nn: Success this time | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.