Bonus: M is for mopped up

Believe it or not, it looks like all the titles I had collected for the M section are accounted for — or at least tried to account for. It took almost exactly a month, with a few hiccups, but we (I?) made it. 😯

As is to be expected, quite a few are left wanting. I’m still holding to the same rules.

  1. No shells. Shells aren’t “applications” in my book.
  2. No codec-specific audio players. Everybody has their own, and there are enough to support an entire blog for a year.
  3. No compression-specific tools. Like codecs, each compression routine has its own esoteric tool. No point in going through them all.
  4. No revision control systems. This too warrants a blog of its own, but it warrants a blog of its own written by a person who knows what makes a good one or a bad one. That’s not me.
  5. No firewall tools, not because they’re esoteric or not true applications, but because they screwed up my network back in the F section. 👿

I’m also wondering how much use I can be with mail tools, if they’re not open to use beyond a private mail relay system. Quite a few of these were intended as mail tools or search utilities, but without a local mail system, there wasn’t much I could do other than show help flags. 😦

Anyways. Here we go.

  • macof: I found more than one reference to macof, but can’t seem to find any source. If I understand the descriptions, this floods a network with phony MAC addresses. Why you would want to do that is not exactly clear to me.
  • madman: This is an iTunes-like music player, and as best I can tell, only graphical.
  • mailsnarf: This is apparently part of the dsniff package, and will scoop up mail traffic on a network line. Again, just to get it started I’d need a huge mail system installed and working and … I don’t. 😦
  • managers: What did I mean by this? The world will never know. 😕
  • mason: This appears in Debian and is described as a firewall tool that mimics the actual traffic that moves through a server. I do better to stay away from firewall tools though.
  • matlab: You might already know matlab, the mathematics software. I don’t, and me trying to explain something as huge and powerful as matlab would not only be funny, it would be downright pointless. If you know it, you know what it does, and if you don’t know it, you probably don’t need it. I fall into neither category and would rather spare myself the embarrassment. 😳
  • maxima: My best assessment is that this is a graphical-only program.
  • mbank-cli: I believe this is specific to one particular Polish bank. I’m not sure how it got onto my list, but I don’t … I don’t … heck, I don’t even know how to start with this one.
  • mdocml: I think this is the rough equivalent of man pages for the BSD systems. I have heard that it is lighter-cleaner-faster than man, et al., but I think someone better versed in BSDs can reply to that.
  • me: An emacs-ish editor that I think is Windows-only. Don’t cry, there are thousands more available to Linux. …
  • meld: A visual diff tool for developers that is, I believe, graphical only.
  • mercurial: A revision control system, and like I said, if you are in the market for an RCS, you’d do better than to seek out my uninformed opinion.
  • metasploit: I got no farther than the installation command for this one, and it began pulling down graphical components. Network penetration software.
  • mgetty (with sendfax): This was in my notes as a getty replacement for use with data or fax modems; I don’t even have a phone line in the house any more. Oy vey. 🙄
  • micro: Just … I don’t know. What was I thinking. I don’t know. 👿
  • midirecord: Softpedia 404s. Freecode 404s. The supposed home page doesn’t have a “midirecord” application, but does have an “arecordmidi” program. I’ll try again when I circle back to the A section.
  • minicom: Serial communications software; I believe it requires a modem to get started. I have a modem in this laptop. What I don’t have is the connecting line, service, contract, ISP and so forth. 😉
  • misfit: If I found the right “misfit” program, this is 3D modeling software based in QT4. There might be something else out there called “misfit” though.
  • mkcd (and mkiso): The home page is there, but access to the code is “forbidden.”
  • mkswap: My notes say, literally, “mkswap is mkswap.” Earmarks a partition for swap space. There’s not much to show here, and time is better spent elsewhere.
  • mldonkey: Apparently this was the free software client for the old eDonkey file sharing network. I could build it, but ran into all kinds of configuration errors. Of course mutella did that for me too, so maybe I should have tried a little harder with mldonkey. Primarily graphical, I think. 😐
  • mlnet: mlnet is the daemon for mldonkey, if I understand the wiki correctly. I seem to remember installing one and getting both, but I might be misremembering.
  • mobilemesh: Ad-hoc network software, I believe. I got the impression I lacked the requisite hardware to work this.
  • monitors: Nice job, K.Mandla. That could mean … gee, almost anything. 👿
  • monopd: Debian is still carrying monopd, and at first I hoped I would get to play a text-based game of Monopoly. As it turns out though, the project is closed, the monopd package is only a daemon for running networked games, and I’d need a graphical game to connect to it. Oh, and the AUR version crashed when I tried to build it. 😦
  • mp3roaster: This I found in Debian, along with the same show-stopping bug described here. What?! A bug in Debian?! Blasphemy! :mrgreen:
  • mp: Minimum Profit is a text editor that has been around for a long, long time and supposedly has a text-only version. I couldn’t get it working though, so I sat in the corner and cried bittersweet tears in the dark.
  • mplex: This confuses me more than anything. Somehow this seems to reside with lftp, but it’s not in Debian or Arch/AUR. And the link doesn’t seem to work. I have it in my notes as an MPEG audio and video multiplexer. Could be.
  • mpstat: Part of the sysstat package in Arch, and in keeping with what can be called a tradition, I’ll save it for the S section.
  • mrt and mrtg: A heavy-duty routing toolkit. “Router is the DNS name or the IP number of an SNMP-managable device. Following the name you can specify 6 further options separated by colons. The full syntax looks like this: router[:[prt][:[tmout][:[retr][:[backoff][:vers]]]]].” If that looks tasty, mrt might be for you. I got the impression it wanted more hardware than I could feed it. mrtg is a graphing tool for mrt.
  • ms: The problem here is that the name is too short. Assuming this is the name of an actual application and not a smaller title in a package, I don’t see anything in AUR or Arch by that name, and Debian has nothing called just “ms”. Of course, searching the web for this is an exercise in futility. 😕
  • mscmdlineutils: A casualty of the death of GeoCities, the pages appear in archive.org, but I can’t find source code. Further, the Freshmeat page makes it look like a Windows-only program.
  • msfetch: Fetches mail from a Microsoft Exchange server. I can check my closet again, but I’m pretty sure I don’t have a Microsoft Exchange server anywhere here. 😕
  • msgsnarf: Another member of the dsniff crew, this should do for instant messenger what mailsnarf did for mail traffic — yank it out of the sky. I don’t know if I could jury-rig a complex enough arrangement to see if it actually worked as promised.
  • mu: Another casualty of my lack of a locally hosted mail system, mu should be mail indexing utilities. Sorry. 😦
  • munin: Network monitoring for servers; forgive me but I just didn’t want to go through the work of setting up a LAMP server just to try out a network monitor. Mea culpa, mea maxima culpa. If that sounds like fun to you though, try this recent howto.
  • museek and mucous: A music-sharing network, and mucous is its supposed CLI-based tool. I’m oversimplifying again, but I couldn’t get it to work as I thought it should. It installed more or less correctly, but nothing connected, and I couldn’t get the svn versions to check out. Reminds me of the trouble I had with giftcurs. Sigh.
  • MySQL: I’m going to make the same excuse as I did with matlab, above: I am completely new to the world of MySQL databases, and I would only embarrass myself trying to explain it here. If you don’t know what it is, you probably don’t need to, and if you do need to know what it is, I am the wrong person to ask.
  • mywiki: The only link I could find for an application called “mywiki” pointed to GitHub, which gave a 404. That happens sometimes.

And that’s it. For anyone keeping track there were probably 52 posts this month (one from the X section, technically), and there were about 38 more that I omitted on the grounds above.

Mathematically speaking, out of 90 or so applications, I got my dirty little hands on less than 60 percent of them. Not very encouraging for the remaining 800 or so. … 😯

5 thoughts on “Bonus: M is for mopped up

  1. Antonio

    maxima is actually a backend computer algebra system which runs on the console/terminal. (I just installed and confirmed!) In fact, all the GUIs available out there (such as xmaxima and wxMaxima) are add-ons built on top of that. Of course that if you are running it in the console you might have a hard time making plots, but you never know… (gnuplot actually works surprisingly well on the console)

    Also, matlab is a paid program, and a very extensive one! If you came through a free version, even if it is a pretty old version, I would be interested in knowing about it. (When I learned matlab, it was a 55M program. Nowdays it takes 2G+, and yet nearly everything I do would almost surely work on the old versions.)

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      I saw that matlab was a paid program. That, and the fact that I’ve heard it was required in some university classes steered me away from it. I doubt there is much I could learn on my own that would impress anyone.

      I know about gnuplot; does maxima show much at the console? I may have to look at it again. What I saw on the home page and what I saw from the version I installed suggested there wasn’t much to do in text-only. 😦

      1. Antonio

        Matlab started as a matrix algebra package but evolved an interpreter for the matlab programming language, which is widely used in engineering and other scientific areas. I think that Matlab is great and you can do really, really nice things with it, but its closed environment is somewhat of limiting factor. And price… So, it is definitely a professional tool.

        Maxima can be very useful in the command line for symbolic algebra, including integration and differentiation. See, for example, http://maxima.sourceforge.net/docs/manual/en/maxima_1.html#SEC1 Beyond that, it’s capabilities may be somewhat limited in the console because there is no ability to plot, but I myself don’t know maxima that well.

        (By the way, maxima is the open source offshoot of an MIT project done a long, long time ago. At that time MIT also sold the rights to a commercial product to a company which a few years ago was bought by Mathworks. So, it is very likely that maxima and Matlab’s symbolic toolbox share the same underlying symbolic algebra code.)

  2. Pingback: octave: Barely scratching the surface | Inconsolation

  3. Pingback: Bonus: A dozen remainders | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.