mp3splt: A rare animal indeed

I can attest to having personally used mp3splt. Once. About three years ago.

2014-01-20-lv-r1fz6-mp3splt

In its graphical form. 😳

2014-01-20-lv-r1fz6-mp3splt-gtk

Yes, I know, it’s a huge failure on my part. I suppose I just should have lied and said I was a die-hard terminal-only fan. No one would have known I was lying. On the Internet, nobody knows you’re a dog.

But I’ll tell the truth this time, since it’s only a misdemeanor and not a felony to use mp3splt graphically.

The context may also be relevant. I asked a friend to rip a CD for me, and she was not a terrific computer person, and came back with a single, enormous bin-cue set of all the audio tracks in one lump.

I tried not to be disappointed since she had done a favor for me, and you can imagine the rest of the story. mp3splt came to the rescue, and the credits rolled.

In my defense, splitting an entire album out of one file is a rather tedious task for the command line, and so again, I feel no compunction about admitting it was easier to import and split the bin-cue that way.

And it may be that the GTK rendition is really the main tool here, and text-only mp3splt is just a backend tool. Like we talked about with inkscape‘s text only mode, or maybe mplayer or lilypond.

These are all just tools, not religious icons. Use them or don’t. Blah blah blah Linux freedom blah blah blah. You know the score. 😉

2 thoughts on “mp3splt: A rare animal indeed

  1. Pingback: mp3wrap: What has been rent asunder shall be forged anew | Inconsolation

  2. Pingback: raschix | Mp3splt

Comments are closed.