mosh: I see the what, the where, the how … but the why?

I don’t ever recall hearing a discouraging word about ssh, which easily ranks among my top three coolest tools ever.

I wouldn’t say it’s without faults though, and I assume that’s the reason why there’s mosh.

I’ve had hanging connections in ssh, particularly if I shut down a machine while still connected. I don’t know if mosh would help with that or not, but judging by its description, it might be a better tool if ssh is causing problems.

But I don’t know how to show that, in a screenshot.

2014-01-15-lv-r1fz6-mosh

I guess if you have a poor connection and you’ve seen ssh misbehave, mosh might be a better application for remote connections.

As it is, I’m just connecting between two machines on my desktop here. And barring a lighting strike, massive solar flare or a meteor crashing through the roof, interference is unlikely.

So all the pieces are obvious and I can figure out how to work it. I just … don’t … know … why. … 😦

3 thoughts on “mosh: I see the what, the where, the how … but the why?

  1. firecat53

    I’m using it right now accessing my home server…connected from my laptop to an open wifi network with my privateinternetaccess.com VPN active. Without mosh, the typing lag is so annoying as to be almost unusable. With mosh…the terminal keeps up with the typing. This doesn’t help as much for editing in vim, for example, but it’s still a nice feature. Also, when I close my laptop and go home, my terminal session will be magically restored as soon as my home wife connects. Oooo, nice!

    Scott

Comments are closed.