mcabber: Looking good, in principle

I was looking forward to mcabber, assuming of course that I would have plenty to show in a console-based jabber client.

2014-01-06-lv-r1fz6-mcabber

Unfortunately, that was as far as I got. I checked the documentation I could find, to include the highly endorsed but rather sparse built-in help, but for some reason, never got past mcabber’s eternal “Connecting …” message.

As always, I will take responsibility for this shortcoming. I did pare down the sample configuration file at /usr/share/mcabber/examples/mcabberrc, and there’s probably something in there that I set wrong. It happens.

I would like to spend a little more time with mcabber, and perhaps I will again in the future. I see it comes with built-in OTR support, and I think relying on encryption as a default in chat is a necessity in this new age.

Of course, it might take a little time to figure out why it never “connects.” And unfortunately with 800+ applications still waiting in the wings, time is in short supply. 😦

