mathomatic: Something looks familiar here

I don’t know why, but I could swear I have seen mathomatic before.

2014-01-04-lv-r1fz6-mathomatic

It may be the case that I have; according to the home page mathomatic has been around since the mid-80s in one form or another. It is not inconceivable that I brushed up against it during one of my previous adventures.

It also makes it quite impressive from a development standpoint, since the last version is stamped from October 2012.

I will be painfully honest and admit that I don’t have the time to dig through all of mathomatic’s crevices and crannies, but if I had the need or inclination I don’t think it would take long to learn.

My only other fear is that, in this day and age, a student who needed mathomatic might look down on its less-than-glossy interface, or gravitate toward a tool with more visual gimmicks. Web access. Smartphone versions. “Like!” buttons. 🙄

I could say that about anything here though: These tools are only useful to people who can look beyond visual gimmicks. 😉

One thought on “mathomatic: Something looks familiar here

  1. Pingback: r: Might as well start at the beginning | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.