Bonus: L is for last words

Here we are again, cresting the hill with another small portion of The List, and letter L in the rear-view mirror.

That’s only partially true though; I have two more that I need to check, but I don’t have the hardware to do it right now. Give me a day or two.

As always, no esoteric compression or audio routines, no shells and no firewall tools. As luck would have it, most of these are either outdated or dependent on specific hardware. Help out if you can.

  • labelnation: This I can run, but can’t really demonstrate because it requires a printer to take advantage of fully. If you have a printer and print preprinted labels periodically, this might be preferable to proprietary printing programs. Did you like that? 😀
  • language-env: This is a bit cryptic to me. The package page says “This tool adds basic settings for natural language environment such as LANG variable, font specifications, input methods, and so on into user’s several dot-files such as .bashrc and .emacs.” So … it tacks on some environment variables to your dotfiles? 😕 Debian only, and didn’t have the feel of a worthy subject for this worthless blog.
  • latex: I considered poking around in LaTeX and including it here, but it’s obvious that I’d be a new swimmer in a very deep pond, and probably just end up embarrassing myself in a display of ignorance. There’s been more than enough of that around here these days, and I’d just as soon avoid that experience again. 😳
  • lbackup: Backup utility. There are quite a few instructional videos on the home page, and online documentation seems good. It appears to be a bash script that handles the copying, and they seem well commented. I didn’t try it out though, mostly because I was a little nervous about implanting the scripts directly into my system and running them outright. Perhaps when I have a leftover system I’ll try this again.
  • lcal: I thought this was a part of pcal, but it’s not in the source code that I could find, and not an embedded command when pcal is installed. Perhaps I mislaid this.
  • let: I believe this is part of the bash shell, allowing simplified arithmetic functions. Not pursued, on those grounds.
  • libnet: I am not sure what this is or how it works. It looks like part of perl, but also looks like it might include kernel configuration tools. I’m at a loss. Web page was last updated in 2003, so it seems out of date. And yet it was forked to github, and appears to have been updated even in the past six months or so.
  • line: I had the word “line” in my list, but no indication what that was supposed to be. I see no package named “line” in Arch or AUR, and Debian won’t even let me search for that (it’s too common, it says). I have a feeling this is one of my world-famous typographical wild goose chases.
  • linuxconf: Unless I am grossly mistaken, this is an old kernel configuration menu. I don’t think it appears in most distros any more.
  • logjam: Graphical only, I believe.
  • logtodo: I struggled to get this working under Arch, but couldn’t get around its demands for Time::DateParser. I installed just about everything I could think of but it remained unsatisfied. Let that be a lesson to you.
  • logwatch: I passed over logwatch for two reasons; first, it seems intended for system administrators and not desktop users like me. Second, it would require a full e-mail setup to work, since it sends activity logs at regular intervals. And third, because … oh, wait. That was three.
  • lpd: Unless I am mistaken, lpd is superseded by cups and company. And, I have no printer.
  • lprng: A printer spooler application. And guess what … I have no printer.
  • lzip: A data compression tool, based on LZMA.

That will be the last of L. Like I said, I still have two I want to check because they rely on specific hardware, but that should cover all the remaining titles in L. It may be that one or both are duds though, in which case I’ll just add the losers to this list.

Next stop: the M section. I anticipate this will take us well into the new year to finish. 😯

6 thoughts on “Bonus: L is for last words

  1. thisnameisfalse

    Hi!:

    I didn’t known “line”, but it looks like similar to “head -1”

    In my system, line(1) manpage says:

    “line copies one line (up to a newline) from standard input to standard output.
    It always prints at least a newline and returns an exit status of 1 on EOF or read error.”
    SEE ALSO
    read(1)

    “line” command is part of the util-linux package

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Interesting. I don’t have this on my Arch system. No man page and which says there’s no line in my $PATH. This warrants further investigation. … 😐

    2. Jon Doe

      cat /var/log/syslog | (while line;do sleep 1;done)
      gives you one line every second. I don’t know why one should do this…

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Interesting. And yet I get

      which: no line in (/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/bin/vendor_perl:/usr/bin/core_perl)

      on my Arch machine for both the privileged user and root accounts. find turns up nothing too. This is a mystery. 😕

  2. Pingback: Bonus: Solving the line mystery | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.