Bonus: J is for just finished

Before this little stunt is over, I have every intention of going back over my list of software and finding out, percentagewise, which letters have the most valid titles, and which have a long list of less-than-functional ones.

It does seem at times that for every working application or tool that I find, there are four or five that are either lost, out-of-date, broken or just enigmas.

No matter. The J section can’t have been any worse than the G section, it was just a good deal shorter to start with.

So here’s what little I have left, either nonfunctional, obtuse (too complex for me), eccentric (requiring odd hardware) or a typo. The usual rules still apply.

  • JACK: Perhaps rather arbitrarily, I discounted JACK on the rationale that it’s an audio subsystem, and not a single application. On top of that, I couldn’t find much in the JACK structure that behaved like a program. If there’s a JACK player or a JACK volume control (or a jack-meter) somewhere in there, please let me know what it is.
  • jar: Archive handler. Not going to pursue it.
  • jdkdrum: This is a bit of a mystery; I can’t seem to find any reference to it outside of one obscure Tiny Core Linux wiki page. If it exists independently, I am boggled by its whereabouts. I don’t see it singly as a package in either Arch or Debian, which is sometimes an indicator that a program has lapsed from the Internet’s collective consciousness.
  • jodconverter: This looked promising until the Arch version asked for all of OpenOffice to be installed alongside it. Absolutely not. I really don’t care if your CLI app can dazzle me with your infinite genius, I’m not installing all of OpenOffice just to get it going. Next, please.
  • john: If there’s a program out there called “john,” I can’t find it for the mess of other things that cloud my vision.
  • joinpdf: The source appears to be gone from the site.
  • jpgind: I really wanted jpgind to work. It seems to run a lot like album, which you might remember from a long time ago. Unfortunately, the dependencies were scrambled and I could never get it to perform as I thought it ought. The Makefile will try to download and build some of the substructure it needs, by the way. Most of those packages were already installed in my system, but I got no love from jpgind. I wonder how you pronounce that name, anyway. …
  • jrnl: Another one I had high hopes for, this is on Github but won’t build for me. I tried several times over but I’m not much of a git fiend, so I more or less failed. I believe it’s asking for something called “sphinx” to be installed as a dependency, but I couldn’t trace that.
  • jsvc: As I understand it, this requires Apache to work right. I haven’t got a server running Apache these days. 🙄
  • jwhois: I had no problems building jwhois, but regardless of the options or arrangement or configuration file, I always got the same “unable to connect” messages. I have seen where supposedly the last version has an error in it, and I even tried to patch jwhois to squash the bug, but I just kept getting the same message. Oh well. I tried. 😦

J was a short section; K will be about the same length. Slowly, slowly creeping toward the first megalithic list, section M. 😯

10 thoughts on “Bonus: J is for just finished

  1. dichodotchum

    “john” probably stands for John The Ripper, a password bruteforcing tool (http://www.openwall.com/john/‎). “sphinx” (as required by jrnl) could be the documentation generator for python programs.

    P.S.: This blog is a very impressive tour-de-force through the dense and foggy universe of unix CLI software. I am a very loyal fan of this work of yours!

    1. Jon Doe

      john is imho worth mentioning. Just run it on your /etc/shadow . john -test gives you a kind of CPU burner and CPU comparison tool 😉
      From the homepage: ‘”Community enhanced” -jumbo versions add support for many more password hash types, including…’
      I run john as root, otherwise the config file can’t be found on my system.

Comments are closed.