j and j2: More fast directory switching

I’m going to combine j and j2 today, mostly because they’re both by the same author, and one is a rethink of the other … which says to me they are close enough in behavior to warrant a lump post.

2013-12-10-lv-r1fz6-j 2013-12-10-lv-r1fz6-j2

As you can see, I had a lot better luck with j and j2 than I did with autojump or fasd.

I like j2 in particular, for giving you the chance to use two arguments as a filter to pin down a particular directory.

It looks like neither of these has been updated in a while, but they still work fine. I should mention that j2 apparently relies on some python. Old, old machines might suffer with that.

Straight j, on the other hand, is just a shell script, so that might work better for you, or prove more portable. Either one is worth a look.

