Bonus: I is for implemented

Letter I yielded a lot of good stuff, but was a long list to start with. I have a healthy string of leftovers too, although some of them are interrelated and could possibly be condensed.

The usual terms apply. I also found myself omitting quite a few things this round on the basis of “just too common.” Here we go. …

  • icant: Can you find icant? Because I can’t. Ha! That was a joke! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ™„ ๐Ÿ˜ณ
  • icmpush: Best I can figure, icmpush is a tool to build custom ICMP packets at the command line. The problem is, I really don’t know what that means, or how to use this. I tried it and it didn’t give me any errors, but I felt like I was reading a cryptic language when I tried to figure out how to work it. Pardon me for realizing I was in over my head. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ As a side note, the AUR source file points to the Debian package page, so perhaps this is something that remains only in Debian. I could find no other home page.
  • id3-mass: Unless I am mistaken, this is a Windows-only program.
  • ident2: This is not in Arch, and the Debian package page points to a dead home page. If I understand it, this is intended as authorization software for servers, which puts it very, very far out of my league. Servers and networking and security? I’ll get me coat. … ๐Ÿ˜ณ
  • ifconfig: ifconfig is a venerable member of the net-tools gang, and so often and so commonly used that I didn’t figure it was worth including. Literally, if your computer has a Linux system running, it probably has this available.
  • ifplugd: When ifplugd was up for discussion, a little voice in my head kept saying, “This is deprecated, this is deprecated.” That little voice might be wrong, but the last update was in 2005, even if it’s still available in Arch (and Debian). Oherwise, this is just a primitive daemon to automatically configure network connections when they become available.
  • ifrename: ifrename is still part of wireless_tools, even though I don’t think it does as much as it used to; it complains there is no /etc/iftab, which is true. Unless I am mistaken, interface naming and renaming falls to udev now, which pretty much slaughters the names I have on my machine. wls3? enp0s25? Who thought those dumb names up?! Probably some computer somewhere. ๐Ÿ˜
  • ike-scan: “Ike-scan discovers IPsec VPN servers, and can fingerprint them using UDP backoff and Vendor ID fingerprinting techniques.” I’m not sure that’s actually English. ๐Ÿ˜ณ
  • init: I actually started to poke around with init and see if there was anything in there worth reporting, but aside from the levels and serving as another way to turn off my computer, I couldn’t find much. And for what I gather, init is on its way out, to be replaced by the startup protocol du jour.
  • ink: Checks ink levels in printers. I have no printer.
  • installwatch: If I understand correctly, this was an early component of Debian’s checkinstall, and isn’t practical anymore.
  • intr: This is bash’s internal command for an interrupt signal, like CTRL+C. As far as I can tell, there’s no fancy-pants kung-fu master way to use it.
  • iosacal: Radiocarbon calibration software? Right up my alley! ๐Ÿ™„
  • ipfilter: This is neither in Arch nor Debian, and includes a lot of smaller tools all starting with “ip,” which accounts for a lot of what is in the I-section. Here’s an abbreviated list:
    • ipf
    • ipfstat
    • ipftest
    • ipmon
    • ipnat
    • ipresend
    • ipsend
    • iptest

    Apparently they all have their own discrete functions, but generally it works with NAT or firewall services. I am a bit leery of firewall software after some bad run-ins in the F-section. It looks to be out of date anyway, and probably is handled by another package now. If you can give any advice, please do.

  • ipscan: I believe this is graphical-only. It’s a network scanner, if you couldn’t guess that.
  • iproute: This is the package that holds ifstat and ip, which I’ll omit out of courtesy to ifconfig. They are all quite common and straightforward.
  • ircfs: I believe this allows users to mount an IRC server as a file system, but I am probably wrong. I know for sure that I don’t have an IRC server though. ๐Ÿ˜
  • isic: isic was apparently updated as recently as this year, but I couldn’t get this to compile cleanly in Arch. It’s not in AUR or Debian either. It apparently has a history with Linux though. Perhaps it works in other distros.
  • ixbiff: ixbiff goes way, way back to 2000, and supposedly flickers your keyboard lights when you have mail in your account. I couldn’t get past compiling it, let alone configuring it to the mail accounts of 2014. A pity, but I’m sure some enterprising software engineer could pick this up again and make it work right. …

I believe that is all for the I-section. The J-section will be short, but we’re getting closer and closer to the M-, N-, P-, R-, S-, and T-sections. I imagine those will take up all of 2014. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

