iwconfig: Wireless configuration

I have two items on my list that are both out of wireless_tools, and while it’s neither here nor there, I’m going to split them into two separate posts. I think they’re each worth it.

The first is the omnipresent iwconfig.

2013-12-08-lv-r1fz6-iwconfig

I learned about iwconfig the hard way, manually installing it for years alongside pcmciautils on ancient laptops that were never meant to run unwired.

More often than not, I ended up scooping up both wireless_tools and pcmciautils and transplanting them manually into systems, to get things networked.

All that is ancient history of course, and now most distros include wireless_tools, if not pcmcicautils, by default.

The reason I mention it now is that it’s still quite often the go-to program for manually setting an essid, mode, encryption key or what have you … if you don’t have a client to do those things for you.

That being said, this is not one of those times when I wax nostalgic over the good old days of Linux. I’m much happier now with things like wicd-curses or netctl or even Linux Mint‘s connection tools in MATE.

But I can’t discount that it’s important to know how to run it.

After all, you might find yourself trapped one day, on a Pentium-era laptop with a curmudgeonly wireless card, wondering how to get the fundamental software onto the machine to get the network running. … 🙄

2 thoughts on “iwconfig: Wireless configuration

  1. Pingback: iwlist: Collecting data | Inconsolation

  2. Pingback: connman and connman-ncurses: Pros and cons | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.