ii: Maybe on another day

I wanted to show ii today, the extremely minimalist IRC client from the suckless.org gang.

I’ve used it in the past and I will admit it’s not for everyone, but in terms of lightweight software, it’s hard to beat.

Unfortunately, today I seem to get snagged on the actual connection with chat servers.

Ordinarily I would blame myself for that, but I haven’t gotten to the configuration step yet, so I can’t have messed that up. 😕 There are a lot of missteps available to me though. I have learned that much over the years.

If I remember correctly, sending a message involved writing to a file nested in an ~/irc directory, and reading out the tail gave you incoming messages.

In other words, things like multitail or even vim became useful tools with ii.

But it doesn’t look like this is going to work for me now. I’ll let it sit for a day or two and see if I can get something functional going, and maybe post a screenshot.

Otherwise, back to irssi. 😉

P.S., The good news is that I got it working later in the day. The bad news? It looks just like multitail. 🙄

5 thoughts on “ii: Maybe on another day

  1. Mike

    That’s great, I’ll give ii a shot. Let’s see if this can replace weechat 🙂

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      It’s a very clever little program, I will give it that. I like software that doesn’t reinvent the same application again and again. ii is very unique.

      1. gewg_

        [Grammar nazi]”Unique” is NOT a superlative; it is an absolute.
        There are not shades of unique; something either is one of a kind or it isn’t.
        I do wish that people with an education and a soapbox (e.g. the hairdos on lamestream media) would stop using these words improperly, as other impressionable people then begin parroting those folks, saying stuff like “most perfect”, and “extremely critical”.

  2. Pingback: sic: Thusly was it written | Inconsolation

  3. Pingback: tinyirc: A contender in the ultralight division | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.