hefur: An exceptionally lightweight tracker

I can show a little of what hefur does, even though I can’t really show it in action.

2013-11-20-lv-r1fz6-hefur

hefur is a bittorrent tracker, written in C++. Note that it’s a tracker, not a client or a downloader.

Which is the reason I can’t say too much about it; I don’t have the setup for a real, honest-to-goodness tracker.

Doesn’t matter — I give a gold smilie to any console application written in C++. 😀

But as you can see, the daemon starts and shows a stat page when you connect to http://localhost:6969/stat. If you want a live example, I believe the author’s tracker is up at http://88.191.147.34:6969/stat.

hefur is in Arch but not Debian; I imagine that could change in the future. It doesn’t take much to build it, so if you’re feeling adventurous, get build-essential going and give it a try.

Before the Arch users get cocky, there’s a small packaging glitch that will give you errors when you try to run hefurctl.

Check this page for help on getting that fixed; hefurd will run without it, but only for the lame purpose of showing weak screenshots on some Internet back-corner thumbsucker blog. 😉

