Bonus: G is for gone

I made a promise a few days ago: I promised I would explain why I’ve included so many programs from the G section that I couldn’t be sure were 100 percent functional.

The problem — as you might suspect from glancing over this post — is that there are a disproportionate number of programs here that were either unworking, unavailable or so completely esoteric as to be unmanagable from my point of view.

I originally had close to 40 titles in the G section. Looking over the posts from the last week or so, I got probably 10 of those to work as I thought they should … and then a few that were, again, not completely cooperating with me.

When I could see where the trend was going, I tried to be a little more “loose” in my interpretations. So programs like giis or goldenpod made it into the “flow” in spite of the fact that I suspected them on more than one point. I even included gramofile when half its function was lost to me.

Even so, some of these might be functional under different arrangements. grepmail and guessnet (see below) were among the last ones I tried and neither of them looked deficient, just unapproachable for me.

As always, no isolated audio clients, no revision control systems, no esoteric command-line archival tools, no shells and no firewall utilities.

  • gammu: This offers command-line control of certain models of cellphones; mine is not listed in their matrix of supported devices. And I’m not going to get another phone and service contract, just to show you how to use gammu. 😉
  • gdrive-cli: I got as far as the line, “To use this, you need to register a chrome application.” Really? That seems like an awfully big step to the side, just to get a command-line interface to Google’s cloud storage. I’m not much of a fan of the cloud anyway. I think I will pass.
  • generator: Can you believe I had just the word “generator” typed in my list? What was I thinking?! 😯
  • geoip-weather: This is not available through AUR, but I tried to clone it off github anyway, but met with errors in python2 and python3. I think this came off r/commandline back in August, but I didn’t get a link for it there.
  • getopts: Funny, but I had this in my notes as getpots, then wondered why I couldn’t find it. This is part of bash, I believe, and just parses arguments to shell scripts. If there’s some sort of kung-fu master way to use this, let me know. Otherwise, it didn’t seem worthy of pursuit.
  • gist: I am dismissing this out of hand, mostly because it’s a command-line tool to post to github. It didn’t appear practical for me, in any way that I could see. On the other hand, I know some people use git as a repository for dotfiles and the like. Perhaps I should revisit this. … If you use git, this might be cool.
  • git: If you don’t know git, it’s a revision control system. If you do know it, you don’t need my explanation for it.
  • gitblogger: If I understand this correctly, you can post to blogger from git. Or can you post to git from blogger? I am not sure. Either way, I don’t use git or blogger, so this was a stretch for me.
  • glark: According to the description, glark “offers grep-like searching of text files, with very powerful complex regular expressions.” The source file 404s in the AUR version, and the Debian version gave me errors when I tried to use it. The man page is intact in the Debian version though.
  • gle: I think this is a scripting language linked somehow to glx. It was a little difficult to trace and I’m afraid I wasn’t sure what I was uncovering. 😦
  • gnucal: I think I typed “gnucal” into my list thinking it was different from gcal, but I’m not convinced of that now. I think they are the same.
  • gnumeric: My confusion might be showing here: I had it in my head that the console version of Gnumeric was the ancient oleo package, which is hardly around any more. I have seen screenshots that supposedly show a console interface to Gnumeric, but I could have sworn they were just shot of oleo. Help me here if you can.
  • gnupod: The irony is not lost on me here: A free software project aimed at an Apple product? I lack the insight for that one. I also lack an iPod, so I couldn’t try it out.
  • gnus: This eluded me. I couldn’t find anything called “gnus” out there; it might be a typo.
  • goblincamp: I had this listed as a console application, but the AUR version immediately wanted SDL, so I assume it’s graphical. If I recall, this is somehow related to (?) Dwarf Fortress.
  • goose: If I understand the home page, this morphed into the GNU Scientific Library.
  • gphotofs: A filesystem used to mount some models of digital cameras as external drives. I don’t have a camera that will connect to the computer in that way, so I couldn’t do much with this. Is it also not an underpinning to gphoto2?
  • gplplus: I couldn’t find any application named “gplplus” out there. I think it might be a licensing term. In which case my list is picking up all kinds of bizarre lint. Just like Katamari Damacy. … 😯
  • grac: I think this is a typo; I think it should read “grace.” I had them both on my list though.
  • grace: “Grace is a WYSIWYG 2D plotting tool for the X Window System and M*tif.” I don’t see anything about a CLI rendition, so I’ll assume this is a graphical tool.
  • grass: GIS software, but only graphical that I can see.
  • grepmail: I got a lot of perl errors and no meaningful results in Arch, which suggests either I configured it wrong or it’s gone stale (last version was 2007?). I don’t know if it’s possible to use this without some sort of mail fetching tool anyway; I tried with my saved messages in alpine, which are plain text, but like I said, all I got was electronic attitude. 😉
  • gringotts: I found the gringotts tool in both AUR and Debian, and both versions were graphical. There is a libgringotts library, but I couldn’t see any intuitive way to put it to use. Cool program though, like an encrypted notepad.
  • gsar: As far as I can tell, this was only ever a Windows-based program, and worked sort of like sed.
  • guessnet: guessnet eluded me at every turn. It’s not in AUR, and the home page is on Alioth, which is down right now after extreme hardware failures. I found it on archive.org and used the instructions there to get it rolling in Debian, but I only have one network and I’m not allowed to leave the house. So it wasn’t much of a challenge in terms of guessing the network, unless I crack the neighbor’s wireless signal. Regardless, what with my meager experience and clumsy configuration with guessnet, I decided I’d better not embarrass myself by trying to explain it. It might be useful if you have a Debian laptop that moves between several networks often. Sorry I couldn’t be of more help.
  • gumnut: gumnut looks really cool. I can think of several scenarios even in the past year or so where a distributed decision-making system would have been wonderful to have. Unfortunately now I am only one person with one machine, so there’s not much of a decision-network to tap. I make all the decisions around here, darn it. I’m the decider. 😈
  • gzip: And lastly, gzip, which is of course, a compression tool.

So as you can see, I had a long list of dubious software, and I bent a few rules to keep the G section from trickling down to gnuplot and a couple of minor console games. Otherwise I might have been a little more discriminating. Maybe in the H section I will be. … 😈

9 thoughts on “Bonus: G is for gone

  1. joek

    gnupod is meant to allow syncing an iPod with your music files on a computer via commandline. Last time I tried it out, however, I couldn’t get it working; maybe I should have a play around and report back…

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Please do. I don’t have an iPod so I have no way of knowing if it’s still functional or a relic of the past. I just found it amusing (and always do, really) that someone would work so hard on a free software solution to a proprietary device.

  2. Giulio Bonetti

    Yesterday I used gmvault to download some mail that I didn’t want to leave on the cloud. Nice program, with good documentation and a lot of examples.

  3. Pingback: Bonus: H is for has-been | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.