gnuplot: I swear this is a coincidence

I had gnuplot all figured out a day or two ago, the post all written up and poised to launch. And then I get an e-mail message mentioning Adam Shore’s introduction … which is much better than what I had ready.

2013-11-15-lv-r1fz6-gnuplot

So my first advice with gnuplot is … go look at Adam’s site.

I have seen where gnuplot can do some amazing things with graphical access, but tty graphs are more to my liking. πŸ˜‰

I found another note elsewhere on the web mentioning that gnuplot’s license terms aren’t exactly what you might expect.

Apparently the source is freely available and you can distribute patches to it, but you can’t modify and then rerelease. If I understand it correctly.

Probably that’s not too big an problem; my acid test for software freedom is usually Debian, and in this case, gnuplot is in main, so it must not be a huge issue. The name can be a little misleading though.

Now I’m going to try to come up with something more exciting than what Adam made. I feel somehow … upstaged. 😳 πŸ‘Ώ πŸ˜‰

5 thoughts on “gnuplot: I swear this is a coincidence

  1. Adam

    Cheers for posting about my blog!

    I have put a linkback to your site on my blog in return as a thank you.

    Adam

  2. Pingback: Bonus: G is for gone | Inconsolation

  3. Pingback: r: Might as well start at the beginning | Inconsolation

  4. Pingback: histo: The shape of things to come | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.