goldenpod: Again, against my better judgment

For reasons that will become obvious later, I’m going to include another application that I am not 100 percent sure is working.

But again, it’s probably an issue of application — not the application. If that makes sense. 😦

This is goldenpod, at the peak of what I was able to do with it.

2013-11-13-lv-r1fz6-goldenpod

There are a couple of issues here, and half of them might be mine.

First of all, I confess I’m not much of a podcast listener. I only really know about the “Linux Lifestyle” one, and I’ve only listened to two or three. I used it as an example, but I honestly don’t know a good one from a bad one.

So it may be that the problem here is that I’ve (not again!) misconfigured goldenpod, and it’s trying to pull podcasts in the wrong way. On the other hand, it may be that they’ve published their files in an unconventional manner.

I am more than eager to accept my error, if that’s the case. Again, I don’t know much about these things.

On the other hand, and in a larger way, there’s the issue of the curl errors that are cropping up. That’s not promising.

If I check the goldenpod home page, it’s a few years out of date, as far as updates go. I’m not a curl expert, so I don’t know if there’s some sort of change on curl’s end that perhaps goldenpod didn’t catch.

All this swirls around into my vague apology for including a program, again, that may or may not be 100 percent functional. Like I said, probably within a few days the reasons for these halfhearted posts will be obvious. 🙄

5 thoughts on “goldenpod: Again, against my better judgment

  1. thisnameisfalse

    Hi!

    Please, don’t apology for showing your unsuccessfull results running a a program. I enjoy this way of discovering new linux commands.

    Goldenpod is a perl script that uses curl to download podcasts audio files.

    In http://random.zerodogg.org/goldenpod/git/ web page you can find a link to github repo: https://github.com/zerodogg/goldenpod/tree/master
    You are using 0.8.3 version, but last version is 0.8.4 with this description:
    “Fixed syntax for newer curl versions”
    This is the change is 0.8.4 version:
    https://github.com/zerodogg/goldenpod/commit/4bfef5dcd787d81f2b353308b5651b48f5e8cdc6

    Bingo!: is the “-C” argument in curl.
    Read curl manpage to understand the required change.

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Ah, there’s the problem. Thanks very much. I was really scratching my head over that. Perhaps I need to stop blaming myself all the time. Thanks again! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Bonus: G is for gone | Inconsolation

  3. Pingback: podget: Getting the goods for you | Inconsolation

  4. Pingback: podracer: Not quite the man podget was | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.