extundelete: When the time comes, remember it

A lot of times I put forth emergency tools on this blog in the context of, “I’ve never had to use this, and happily so.” That was the case with ddrescue.

Unfortunately, I can vouch personally for extundelete (and a couple of other undelete tools for other file systems). Yes, it’s true. In the past, a younger and more foolish K.Mandla deleted some files and then whimpered in horror.

2013-10-28-lv-r1fz6-extundelete

It happens to everyone I guess. The only difference is knowing well enough how to get something back before all hell breaks loose.

extundelete isn’t fancy, doesn’t have a lot of bells and whistles, and doesn’t know exactly how or what you want to recover.

But it has saved my bacon more than once, and for that I am quite thankful.

The final, awful irony of me showing — or even just mentioning — extundelete is that you need a journaling file system if you expect it to undelete things from your system.

And for years now, I’ve only used ext2 … which doesn’t use journaling.

So it is rather odd that I would vouch for a tool as a winner, when I can’t even show that it works as promised.

No harm done, I guess. Remember this moment, when the time comes for you to go running after extundelete. Remember K.Mandla saying, “Relax, it’ll work fine. …” 😉

3 thoughts on “extundelete: When the time comes, remember it

  1. Curtis

    I’m not trying to judge here, but I’m just curious why it is you continue to use ext2 over more modern (and better maintained) filesystems?

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      It’s an old habit. I keep sensitive data on an external drive with ext4, but I build systems in ext2. It’s a holdover from working with very old machines where the more complex, journaling filesystems slow down overall performance. That, and supposedly they mount quicker on older hardware, which would speed up boot times. To be honest, my track record with ext2 is quite good. I don’t recall my last crashed drive, but I don’t think it was ext2.

  2. Pingback: foremost: Aggressive data recovery | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.