epub2pdf: Proof of the viability of Java-based applications

I joke when I say that. A long time ago I was in a rather terse forum “conversation” with a person who insisted Java was the only negotiable programming language because it was cross-platform.

Of course, as a proponent of underpowered hardware, my reply was that I’d rather be beaten about the head and shoulders with a dead fish than suffer too many Java-based applications … cross-platform be darned. 🙄

I don’t hold anything against Java, if that’s your gig. I usually don’t hold anything against anything, because having the choice is the most important part to me.

And now having made all those disclaimers in quick succession, I can offer you a glimpse of the end product of epub2pdf.

2013-10-28-lv-r1fz6-epub2pdf-dickens

It probably doesn’t need said any more, but epub2pdf is apparently a Java program, and will run on anything that you can squeeze the runtime environment into … be that Windows *, Mac OS*, Linux or what have you.

And by all accounts, it does a pretty good job. I’m sure there are PDF-o-philes out there, like there are audiophiles, who can tell me whether or not epub2pdf’s end product is worth a darn. In my book, it’s acceptable.

As far as options go, you’ll have to dig around in epub2pdf’s documentation to find all the tweaks you’re after. By default, epub2pdf dumped the output in my home directory, named the same as the epub.

And I hesitate to say it, but I wonder if epub2pdf isn’t a bit slower than some other tools, being Java-based. I know, I’m an uneducated heel and I have no proof of the insinuation, but over two minutes on a dual-core machine just to convert one document seems … lengthy. I’m sorry. I’m speaking out loud again. 😳

I do know that I would be shy about using this on a machine much older than this dual-core, because I have a feeling performance would drop off exponentially. Just my hunch though.

All of that does not detract from the point that epub2pdf works, works well, and will probably work on your machine too, no matter what it is. So is it proof of the viability of Java-based applications?

Oh heck, I don’t know. 😐