ethstatus: Pay close attention to spelling

A long time ago, I mentioned ethstats. A longer time ago, I mentioned ethstatus, and described it in an evolutionary context … as one in a trio including pppstatus and slurm.

2013-10-27-lv-r1fz6-ethstatus

You can do the legwork and decide if I was right. ethstatus is the kind of network monitor most people watch for when they move to a console environment — more than just data, with enough animation to keep it visual.

It has a few flags to effectively adjust the vertical scale, so if you have a line speed higher than my meager 80kbps, you’ll do fine.

My only complaint about this one is probably obvious: The authors never intended for it to live in a terminal beyond 80×25 or so. There’s a lot of wasted space there.

I suppose I could file a bug report. Somewhere. … 😐

There are a lot of similar monitors out there though. pppstatus and slurm are a year or so down the line, but there are more coming.

Just remember to watch your spelling when you install this one. ethstatus, not ethstats. … 😉

3 thoughts on “ethstatus: Pay close attention to spelling

  1. Pingback: ethtool: What doesn’t it do? | Inconsolation

  2. Pingback: ifstatus: The semigraphical network monitor, part 2 | Inconsolation

  3. Pingback: pppstatus: By virtue of past performances | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.