ekg and ekg2: The original and its revision

Here are a couple of instant message clients for you. One you might find easy and quick to adopt. The other … you might need to be a polyglot.

2013-10-23-lv-r1fz6-ekg 2013-10-23-lv-r1fz6-ekg2

I can’t help you much with ekg, on the left. This one, like adresownik, probably requires fluency in a second language (I am assuming Polish again?) to get started. And unfortunately, for all my talents, this language is not one of them.

On the other hand, ekg2 is something I can approach. It reminds me a little of centerim, which we talked about not-so-very-long-ago. Not menu-driven, but no less accessible for it.

Most controls seem to be command-driven, which makes it similar to things like irssi or barnowl or climm, and shouldn’t be too difficult to handle if you already live life at the command line. 😉

I think my quest for a text-based instant messenger that handles encryption may be over. The home page for ekg2 suggests it can handle gpg or rot, but it might take some time for me to get it set up. I’ll update if I do.

As a last note I should mention that ekg2 has a GTK interface; that might be important if you want the flexibility of working graphical or text-only.

I think that will do for now. There’s a long list of software out there, and it can’t wait for me to prattle on endlessly. 😐

One thought on “ekg and ekg2: The original and its revision

  1. Pingback: freetalk: Get your jabber on | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.