Bonus: And so D goes

With date and diff out of the way, I think I’ve come to the end of the D section. As always, I discounted some of what’s left, based on these criteria:

  1. no shells,
  2. no codec-specific audio players,
  3. no compression tools intended for specific algorithms, and
  4. no revision control systems.

My reasons for omitting those are listed here.

Just to be different this time, I’m going to run all of these together rather than draw attention to my shortcomings. 😳 😉

  • darcs: darcs is a revision control system, if I understand it correctly. Try it if you need one.
  • declare: I’m a little confused by declare; I do know it lists all your environment variables in bash if you just enter declare at the prompt. I think it’s part of bash; correct me if I’m wrong.
  • diatheke: I’m going to steer clear of religious software, thank you.
  • diffuse: I believe this is only a graphical application. For Windows too, if that makes a difference to you.
  • dirvish: dirvish appears to be a backup system for much more complex systems than my meager desktop collection.
  • docutils: I spent a lot of time with docutils, but for the most part came up empty-handed. The AUR version creates an empty package with a few nonfunctional python applications in a side folder. The Debian version seems to be mostly a dependency to something called rest2web. When I get to the R section, I’ll take a look.
  • doomrl: I tried doomrl once a long time ago and it’s really a lot of fun. The AUR version segfaults when the game starts though, so it might need some internal updates. I’m not sure.
  • dos: At some point in the past I added the word “dos” to my list. I’m not sure what I was thinking. … 🙄
  • dosbox and dosemu: Technically speaking these aren’t applications but rather emulators for DOS software. I suppose you could stretch your definition and say they are text-based. The do open up a lot of doors for additional software options. As far as I know they don’t work at the framebuffer though, so it might be that you use Word 5.5 at the command line within an emulator inside Xorg. Let your conscience be your guide. 😉
  • dream-strobe: This strikes me as more of a gimmick than anything. I skipped over it mostly because I could find almost no documentation on it. It may have been a one-shot just-for-kicks mini-application that’s still hanging around.
  • dsh: A distributed shell that dates back about 10 years. If you have a cluster, this might be interesting for you. I wish I had a cluster. …
  • dsniff (which includes dnsspoof): These are tools intended for network penetration and while I probably ought to have spent more time with them, much of what they started with was above my head. I mention them so you can take a look, if you are interested.
  • dvdtube: As far as I could tell, dvdtube was intended to download YouTube videos according to user name, and dump them straight to DVD. It didn’t work quite right for me; as usual, that’s probably my fault. It also looked like someone’s personal script, so I left it be.

And amazingly, that’s it. Far less applications in the D section than there were in the Cs. More’s the pity.

Up next, everything you ever wanted to know about console software starting with the letter E. 🙄

6 thoughts on “Bonus: And so D goes

  1. thisnameisfalse

    Hi:

    yes, declare is a shell builtin (it is part of bash shell).

    it is used mainly for debugging purposes. In bash, you can use a variable in a shell script without defining the type of the var (a=7). In other languages, you must define the type of the variable in first step, and then you can use the variable.

    With define, you can assure that “a” variable is only for numerical data, for example.

    More examples: http://www.tldp.org/LDP/abs/html/declareref.html

  2. Lex

    > docutils: (…) The AUR version creates an empty package with a few nonfunctional python applications in a side folder. (…)
    The version from AUR?
    docutils is in the [community]-repo and therefor it should work

    $ pacman -Ss docutils
    community/python-docutils 0.11-1
    Set of tools for processing plaintext docs into formats such as HTML, XML,
    or LaTeX
    community/python2-docutils 0.11-1
    Set of tools for processing plaintext docs into formats such as HTML, XML,
    or LaTeX

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      My confusion deepens now. Is this incorrect then? If I remember right, that’s what I tried to install, but it went haywire.

      Thanks for the help, by the way. 😐

  3. Pingback: Bonus: M is for mopped up | Inconsolation

  4. Pingback: Bonus: S is for squashed | Inconsolation

Comments are closed.